Story Illustration Work-In-Progress

in #art6 years ago (edited)

thecottage.jpg
I haven't been around as much lately and the reason for that is of course a project I started working on! I am not even entirely sure how the end project will be. I might assemble it as a book, or I was also considering a slideshow video with narration. We will have to wait and see which direction I take it.
theoutsidecave.jpg
thepool.jpg

I have been simultaneously creating the story and the background artwork. I have the characters vaguely developed in my head but I haven't started the concept art on them yet.
At this point I just wanted to pop in and say hi, I'm still around, I'm just really busy developing this!the tree.jpg
thecliff.jpg
underthetree.jpg

labirynth.jpg
labirythside.jpg

I decided to go with a paper craft style. I love the whimsical quality that it is creating. The process of this is pretty simple. I painted entire pages with watercolor textures, and scanned them. I also scanned a variety of papers to get other textures as well. IMG_20180318_0002 (3).jpg

paper (7).jpg

I drew very simple pencil sketches that I used as a template in Photoshop. I added the papers on top and masked them out. I deleted the pencil sketches leaving just the layers to represent a cut out paper look.
It can be tedious, but I also love the the simplicity of the images.
IMG_20180318_0002.jpg
I think when it comes to the characters though I might add more details so that they appear more important in the hierarchy of the image. I saved all of these backgrounds as PSD files so that I can add the characters in between layers if I want to. It gives me much more flexibility when I go back. For example I was able to turn the winter woods into spring woods, just by adjusting the colors and adding some leaves between layers.
the spring woods.jpg
I literally have been having a hard time falling asleep at night because this is taking over my brain. I am trying to get as much done as possible while I am inspired. I do not want it to become one of those projects I abandon.
thefairyring.jpg

Hopefully by posting my progress here it helps keep me accountable and I can see this project through to completion!!
vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

Wow. I really like the entire concept here. The art, the papercraft feel, the environments...

So, you just scan in pages you painted/drew on and use those as surfaces for 3D models? Is that right? This is new to me for image manipulation since I don't use programs like that near enough.

Maybe I will put together a step by step post 🙂

I bet a lot of people would really value that!

This is really looking great so far. I love that you made your own textures and scanned them in. The art style very much reminds me of the style in one of the games I have in Steam called "Jotun" .. A simple, beautifully made game with lots of awesome Norse Mythology in it.

Just one thing: The blockyness of the hedge is the only thing I don't like - it seems out of sorts with the rest of the imagery...

Good luck with this! I can fully relate to needing to do something while the inspiration is there - And yes, Steemit is proving useful to me too, for the same reason you mentioned... Keeps one accountable ;)

Thanks for your thoughts! I am off to check out jotun!

If you like classic-feel arcade games, and Norse mythology, you're going to enjoy it ;)

I love any mythology, I just googled it, it looks amazing

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

That’s weird totally thought I was. Well I am now 😁

Lovely and appealing. looking forward to see it come together.
Progress ...post ...progress ... post. It's like left foor, right foot, left foot, ... I tell myself the same..

It’s so hard to complete big projects because at some point I get a new idea that I get really excited for and abandon my project for something new. But I think this time I really want to stick it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64