Sort:  

Maybe because the angels are modest and all look alike while the gargoyles want to show off their costumes and guide hands to be painted.

thanks, and yes, I love to paint Cherubims (which are not at all like the little Rococo chubby baby angels), my influence in this regard is my late friend Ernst Fuchs, for a time before his passing was my studio neighbor at the Palais Palffy in Vienna. He had painted a series of these long before I ever picked up a brush. Well, technically, in heavenly hierarchy Cherubims rank far above angels - they are not gargoyles, but rank in the first sphere, just below Seraphims
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_angelology

OK, sorry if I offended with my ignorance some type of supernatural being :) Thank you for sharing.

No offense - I do appreciate comments and discussions such as these. What first stirred my interest already when I was just a boy browsing my grandfathers library was Revelation and also Ezekiel, where you would find descriptions that, in my mind, are well beyond what I seen depicted in art, until I seen the paintings by Ernst Fuchs. But even so, I do not follow the literal to a tee - perhaps I am the only one that does not see Lovecraft's Cthulhu (a hyper-dimensional monster) like an Octopus, but that is another chapter: Cthulhu Monuments.

thank you for your comment - Cherubims are not gargoyles - I explained that in the other comment on this tread.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.01
ETH 3734.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69