i+everything artwork #1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

39500179_10156555822023529_4082937555304054784_n.jpg

i+everything is the name I give to all of my personal creative output, including songs and stories.

Last night a friend taught me how to do some basic designs on Photoshop. We used a story from Confessions of the Damage as the concept and tried to create a similar feeling. I'm not much of a visual person so I'm really curious to know what you think!

Be honest!

Sort:  

i+everything is an interesting overarching name for your creative output, but I do think it would be nice to have another, more particular for this piece.

Did you work from stock images and blend/manipulate them or were the images drawn digitally by you? Green and blue are my favorite colors so the image caught my eye easily. There's a sort of pleasant "vertigo" I get from my eyes being pulled from the upper right corner to the lower left because of the way they contrast each other.

For some reason, the first thing I noticed looking at the image was the white spots in the upper left corner that sort of descend in a line through the skyscraper. The formation was a sort of rub that bothered me instinctively, though looking at it further the sensation went away.

The overall aesthetic is really nice and I even like the font of the black text you used as it underscores a certain character that fits well here.

Thanks! We took two stock images and merged them. We were going for the feeling that nature still lurks under the city and will reclaim it one day, impermanence and a merging of worlds. We had to play with the colors a lot but I am happy with the result. I think most of my work feels different shades of blue, and not the sad kind.

At first I had a separate name as an author, but it was mostly because I was trying to hide my identity. After I gave up on being anonymous, it just felt natural to merge the two projects.

It’s very hard to get people to read stories whether it’s on steemit or elsewhere. My music Facebook page got about 6x the likes as my fiction page. Even when I’m very active on steemit and get 20+ comments on posts, I’ll post some of my fiction after that and get 0 comments. Lots of friends have promised to read my stories and never got around to it. I find that connecting it to my music really helps to attract readers and it’s a nice way to do so while remaining entirely independent as an artist. Also there is no contractiction on my part because the songs and stories are based upon similar feelings and messages, their simply translated into two different languages.

I also wonder if it’s confusing sometimes, but then I think, if Bob Dylan wanted to write a novel, he could use the name Bob Dylan and it wouldn’t be a problem, especially if he wanted to express a similar feeling to his songs. The only difference is that i+everything doesn’t sound like a given name.

I like the colour, the font and your concept; the collab between artificiality and nature blending together.
I thought it was a picture from some sort of an exhibition...! I don’t believe that you’re not a visual person lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I had a lot of help with this, I just told my friend the feeling I wanted and accepted or rejected the images he chose then watched him edit them and tell him yes or no to the changes he made, hahah

I really like the concept and the composition @whatamidoing but I'm not so keen on the colours.

I would have made them deeper/richer. However, that could just be my computer screen. 😁

Looks like you've got another fun hobby to play with. 😊

waooo nice
plz follow me em new

I like it, mainly because of the colors. Blue and green. My all time favorites as they remind me of nature: blue for water and sky, green for all plant life. It's colors that help you breathe.

I also like the contrast: nature versus city (life). I think it's very close to what you are experiencing and many people are struggling with. In the end, cities are built where nature was reigning.

It also has some kind of Asian ( traditional ) and at the same time modern touch to it.

Nice work but the main thing is that you yourself like it ;>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55