A field trip back into my 3D life - Local Art and Music scenes

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Aside from the @sndbox summer camp, I haven’t had much time for steemit during the past week. I’ve been enjoying my 3D life a lot more than I had in the winter.

Experimental art and music

I made friends with this awesome girl who is much younger than me. I’ve been helping her with events that she organizes. She’s an endless generator of passion and energy and knows how to draw a crowd. She’s a bit immature in that “yay, let’s party!” way but she manages to attract the most awesome people with that energy. Last week she held two movie screenings, we watched Down by Law with Tom Waits and then a documentary about garbage pickers in Brazil and an art project based around them called Waste Land and had awesome discussions about the films. She also held a “performance art” night where we ended up asking lots of ultra personal questions to strangers and had some amazing conversations.

We both really want to get all the artistic people in our city together where we can play together regardless of our mode of art, age, and lifestyles. We are talking about different ways to do this. She also believes our city should have a stronger LGBT prescense to make people from that community feel safe. Right now there are just a few small “gay bars” which hardly draw artistic and intellectual people (all pop music and designer clothing). I’m trying to egg her on into making it happen, and of course I’ll do what I can to support that and help it grow.

Visitors

Another friend came to visit from a bigger city and she wanted to hold an informal dance and music event. 15 of us met at the park and the two of us casually guided the business people and students out of their awkwardness and into the moment. I played guitar and djembe while she guided them to express themselves through movement. I taught a few people how to keep a steady beat on the drums and tried moving myself. It was a really awesome experiment and I want to try it again!

D2E9977B-F2B5-4E1D-9490-71D929B8F5BC.jpeg
Aside from privacy, I don’t share many pictures of these places and people and events because my photos are all this sloppy

One other friend, a comic artist and electronic music dabbler came and we had 3 days of conversation. We come from the same tribe, so it was a chance to tune myself against someone who really understand me. I explained crypto and steemit and my insight into humanity’s potential future, both the positives and negatives (we all have some added insight being involved in blockchain). He shared what’s been going on with the tribe and taught me a lot about the current state of hip hop and how he is able to really enjoy psytrance (which I call S&M music). He also shared a bunch of his psychedelic experiences and we exchanged ideas about meditation coming from different perspectives.

Old acquaintances becoming new friends

As many of my old friends (mostly from the folk and psychedelic music scene) left this city, I’ve been getting more familiar with different scenes that have been here but felt more distant because of cultural differences between our subcultures. Thanks to the first girl I mentioned I'm becoming more familiar with visual and performance artists which I didn’t know before, also more students and people who have recently graduated are finding their way to me.

I’m also getting closer with the old hip hop / skater scene. We’ve known each other and been on good terms forever, but since we are getting older they have become more open to making friends outside of their music scene. Last night I drank with these guys and we really bonded. They asked me to help them with a radio playlist which was less hip hop influenced and discussed the different ways to enjoy music for a few hours.

I also ran into this old friend, a folk singer and probably the last from our old scene who is still around, we are talking about getting together to jam once a week and seeing what happens.

Lastly there’s the fashion and design scene which is full of people who do commercial art work but aren’t really into the commercial aspect. Connecting with these people adds a whole other element and more resources to our art scene. I find many of the younger people are struggling to engage in art that is independently conceived. They want to learn to make stuff that they really enjoy without worrying too much about others expectations.

I see many collaborations coming!


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" discord community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit" and make friends.

I’m also a language learning coach. Come find me if you need help learning a language.

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

—-

I welcome crypto gifts :-D

BTC 1HsHctHFoZucpjEY9NfE4SHUfEpCQwaDVc

​ETH 0x252c2641438709687aec16d42974fbc3952f88d8

​LTC Ldzq13WK1fTDZe9p7WvaQhqWyx8TWcweNx

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap.

Sort:  

Where can i get a copy of this 3D life game?

i got mine in a cereal box!

I am so, so, happy to read this post @whatamidoing. You wanted to do more stuff in the community and it obviously really suits you.

I really hopes this contiues to develop for you. Your energy is so different talking about it. Brilliant!!! 💙 💙 💙

I want to do this kind of stuff all the time! Sometimes there aren’t the people for it though, so at 5hose times at least I can retreat back into steemit

I used to be a skater punk XD Never really much of a hip hop type though. That's awesome that you've been getting into more of this kind of stuff :D That performance art thing sounds like fun!

goatsig

I want to kind of hone my skills at creating that kind of atmosphere. I was a punk too but not a skater!

That sounds like an awesome week!

I can feel the energy right through your post. If this was a week in my diary (if I had one), I would be proud of it. It seems like you have actually 'lived' or should I say actively lived, doing the kind of things that energize you, hanging with all kinds of different crowds.

Great to see a picture taken by you for a change, it seems to contain as much energy as your post

Bye for now!

I wish every week was like this! I feel like it was before but something about getting older and certain places makes it a struggle. I did have an awesome week, it left me wondering what to do with myself now that my friends left. At least I have steemit!

I get it, buddy. I still struggle a little with alone time, even though I'm probably way better at it than a lot of people, out of necessity and a number of other reasons.

Or perhaps you're talking about productivity. I try to care about that less these days. I wanna do less and enjoy it more, prioritize things, habits and people that are important to me.

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Your article got selected by the IINC team and is featured in the “Curator’s Choice” series. Congrats!

Ahhh thanks, hadn’t heard of you guys! I will check you out.

actually have music up too! the post after this one.

Keep them coming! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47