Value in Process : Why Steemit is a Big Deal for Artists

in #art8 years ago

90% of Art is Process

Endless sketchbooks, bar napkins, eraser residue, smudges, study models, late nights, early mornings, crumpled-up paper and globs of paint that dried too quickly. These preliminary stages of the creative process make up an invisible 90% that is rarely shared with the world.

The “process” in art can be where the best stories are hiding. It’s where the artist’s rigor, passion and craftsmanship are brought to a boil. The “final” piece is just a small window into a much bigger landscape. With Steemit, artists are finding a platform to share the stories beyond the frame.

Feedback

When I first opened Steemit I was excited to see that “art” and “photography” were in the top 5 trending topics. I half expected “catmeme” and “selfie” to be there instead. (I mean honestly, it’s tough to open a social platform from scratch in 2016 and not propel some funky content… although, for the record, I actually really enjoy a good cat meme...)

Anyway, seeing “art” and “photography” in the trending column was one of the central reasons why I decided to join the platform. What it showed me - is that here, creativity has enormous value. This growing community of Steemians genuinely appreciate and want to see behind-the-scenes stuff just as much as the final product. In my own work, I’ve found that those moments of chaos and not-quite-yet compositions are the most honest. As an artist, those moments stand out the most to me. They are where you learn, grow and hone your craft. When the final piece is framed, published, or installed… there’s a moment where you step back... stare back at it… and admiringly see every flaw, every smudge and bruise, even as others don’t. You see your final work and think about all the stories hiding behind the pane of glass now protecting it.

Steemit isn’t a polished gallery or a quiet museum… it’s more like a communal drafting desk. It’s a place where you can share raw thinking and receive constructive and honest feedback.

During my first couple of weeks experimenting on Steemit… I was essentially posting the artistic equivalent of aforementioned cat memes. I was making 20 cents here and there when a staple-Steemian reached out to me and challenged me to do better by my work. She said “what is your process… tell me everything”... and that really woke me up. In that moment I realized that this place isn’t instagram or twitter. I can’t just post a final picture and sum everything up in 140 characters. I thought... as an artist, this could be a major opportunity. Here, you can share your work in the moment, just as you are creating it. You can write about it, take a progress photo, share an idea or inspiration. In most cases, honest content receives honest feedback and actual value. And that’s an unprecedented thing for an artist to be able to tap into.

Traditionally, most artists only generate income through an exhibition or (if lucky) a commission. Either way, payment only arrives around the final stage of production. What’s exciting about Steemit is that we now have the ability to generate revenue as we are generating the art itself. Process can have value here. That invisible 90% can become profitable and not just the final 10%.

By finding value in process the Steemit platform could revolutionize the way artists are able to work and support themselves. Here, third-party support systems aren’t necessary. In this decentralized community, your work can be elevated in an unprecedented way.

Sharing + Preserving Identity

With the digital age of art, loss of one’s identity (ownership) has always been something short-changing growth. For a lot of professional disciplines this type of “behind-the-scenes” work can be extremely proprietary. For a biology lab (for example) these “scenes” are typically archived with discretion and not designed or ever formatted to become public. There are deep-rooted fears associated with ego, credit and ownership that many disciplines still practice. However, with the growth of social media platforms these traditional anxieties over “proprietary” and “ownership” are slowly beginning to breakdown. Places like “Github” have served as an exciting and open-source platform for programmers. The structure of Github supports sharing, while also acknowledging the origins of an idea. The origins are recorded through a web of actions called “pushes” “pulls” and “forks”. Blockchain on Steemit is another structure… or really, a map that invites exploration and direction-telling all while recording the routes and origins of a journey. In other words, blockchain is a new technology that helps you share while inherently protecting your identity.

Steemit as a New Stage for Craft

In a world curated by the resolution of your computer screen... craft is a hard thing to capture. With Steemit, we have an rapidly evolving resource that helps to break down the barriers that have prevented many artists from fully embracing the digital landscape. An artistic utopia could be closer than you think! It’s still so early (if you’re counting Steem-years) but platforms like this one could serve as a catalyst to propel creatives into the 21st century.

… Artists, let’s make it happen!


The intro-illustration is a Steemit original created for this post. All photographs were taken by myself via my (messy) drawing desk. Please feel free to use any of my graphics / images in your own posts (with a short caption for credit - @voronoi - or a link back to the original content) Thank you!


Follow me @voronoi

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @voronoi. Your topic is a tough one for artists and art collectors alike.

If one may express thoughts in a candid manner, some queries come to mind.

How does an artist think of his revenue or even the destination of his work and process/create at the same time? It is as you say...alot of process before the idea becomes a reality.
Why would an artist spend time explaining the process unless he desires to be an art instructor as well? If an artist desires to be an instructor...then fulfilling someones request to hear about the process is fine...however many times an artist is, after continuous repetition of certain processes, creating intuitively. It becomes second nature and thus a distraction from his work to explain process. One would hope that it would not be an expectation of artists to explain procedure.

The opportunity on Steemit for artists is vast, yet the necessary protection of one's time and creative thought process should bring pause as to how to function on Steem.

Will there someday be Steem galleries to represent vetted artists?

Lets say the goal of an artist is to express his thoughts, joy of life, regard for certain things, etc. Nevertheless the appreciator, the art collector, must be able to see what he appreciates in the work, be it a painting, sculpture, photograph, ....from his own frame of reference, he identifies with the colour...the setting...the mood...the style of the work, etc. but it is his impression of the work not that of the artist that he appreciates.
The artist has expressed something through a developed skill that the buyer cannot, therefore the collector appreciates it all the more.

A thought regarding the traditional manner of putting artwork forward is that it is the art, not the artist....the message,not the messenger that is the issue.

How do artists fullfill that principle in this new paradigm?
How do art collectors not get distracted by the artists?

Perhaps this should be considered more of an open letter to Steemit.

BTW...It is the colour palette of your work that fascinates the eye of bleujay whatever the subject. Thank you for the opportunity to express thought.

Your words are extremely thoughtful, thank you for taking the time to read my post and also for thinking critically about this topic. First and foremost, each artist has his or her own unique way of creating. Some are more internalized than others who might depend on a dialog with their surroundings. The intuition of an artist (as you mention) is an interesting topic... From my perspective, "intuition" is a mysterious ether of creativity that holds art in a delicate balance between inclusive and exclusive. You could say that the mysterious artist allows the observer to find their own meaning in the art... or you might say that a mysterious artist is stymieing their own ability to connect their story with others. It's a tough balance to strike in new paradigms like this one. I can't say I have a clean answer... but I think as artists, it's our obligation to explore the possibilities.

I should add that I'm an insatiably curious pen-wielding optimist... especially when it comes to sharing artwork :)

And thank you for doing so...it is fresh, quality, honours the basic Principles of design and the Elements of Design, original, and refreshing. Steemit is fortunate to have in you both a writer and an artist. Wishing you the very best.

Thank you for your reply. Agreed. Yes, an objective exploration of the possibilities in this new frontier.
A principle for this may be...Flexible in the non essentials....Inflexible in the essentials. To each artist these essentials will be different.

Once again thank you for your article which brought about an opportunity for
ponderance and dialogue. All the best. Cheers

"Beyond the frame"

I like that!

Ah! Yes! Thank you, I'm happy you like it.

Great post! I agree that there is much insight in seeing artists' processes - not only technically, but also conceptually- which is what I too am striving for on this platform. Good luck!

Thank you @storyseeker... Right on! It's exciting to have the benefit of exploring both technical and conceptual work here. I should say that I really enjoy the work you're doing. Thanks for your feedback!

I too am extremely excited about the support and acknowledgement given to art on this platform. I am excited about all the opportunities in building this Steemit community, and that they give high credence to my favorite subjects is an added bonus!

Much of my day is spent behind the camera, documenting the intricate aspects of life at the @gardenofeden. I am no stranger to documenting process. I do find, however, that when I have the time to myself immersed in artistic expression (which of course, I also consider photography to be), switching into what I would consider a left brain activity of breaking things down into steps as documentation, tends to pause my creative flow. I definitely live on intuition and art for me is about my own internal process and the expression of myself. I rarely do it for outside praise, approval or validation, though know what I share impacts many.

In living in community where new people come asking for guidance with great frequency, I find that some things are not so easily taught, but can only be felt with the heart. I am also someone who avidly plays in the garden. Teaching gardening is another one of those intuitive endeavors for me that requires some basic information, attention to details, and experience, but most of all just opening up and tuning into nature.

My food prep is the same--no recipes, just suggestions, ideas, experimentation and conscious awareness.

That being said, I am totally grateful for those who are willing to share their process as we have much to learn from one another. I am giving the process a bit more attention these days because I know the beauty of sharing things of value with others So grateful there is a niche for everyone.

Thanks for this post. That was kind of a lengthy reply, but the subject feel important to explore. Blessings! UPvoting. I'm already following you.

Oh, and I also want to say that I love what you and the boys are doing! I'd love to play that game with you. So inspiring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59