Terrarium : Collaborative Art Project (@everlove)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Here is my interpretation of @everlove’s original photograph (linked here). Her image of abstract green tones at first appears as some sort of reflective collage, but on second glance you can see that the highlights reveal a glass bottle with plant life inside.

With the bottle in mind, I aimed to render an abstracted terrarium landscape. I used a 3D digital modeling software to read the bright and dark hues as high and low topography. The result is a colorfully contoured landscape.

bottle-persp_new_render-Final.jpg

Progress & Process

Here are images of the work in process, beginning with @everlove’s original image, below:

Untitled-1.jpg

The original image was softened to identify high and low features and bring into a 3D modeling script that identifies high and low points through pixel contrast.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.54.34 AM.png

Here are a few snapshot renderings of the fully mapped landscape below:

bottle_1.jpg

bottle_2.jpg

bottle_4.jpg

bottle-3.jpg

A big thanks to @everlove for hosting such a fun and thoughtful project that promotes community engagement! If you haven't already, take a look at the open call to participate.


follow me @voronoi | design collective @hitheryon

Sort:  

Oh wow this look pretty cool, i mess with a lot of 3d engines so I'm interested which was used in the creation of this?

Thanks @thedegensloth! I used Rhinoceros for all 3D modeling here. That's my go to program :)

WOW @voronoi!!! I always love it when you participate on these collaborations as you have a perspective that always brings about surprises. This is another great piece using my image in the most amazing of ways. We are all blessed by your contribution.

Thank you for such kind feedback everlove. Also thanks for hosting the challenge!!

This is really a blessing for me. Having everyone bring their best to the table and sharing it is what community is about. I love the good feel of the images everyone shares. We are blessed with a growing network of inspired support. Grateful for you.

This is AMAZING work!
Thank you for sharing the process too. It's so cool and your final piece is ... WOW

Thank you for such kind feedback @merej99! I really enjoyed the process. Glad you like it :)

:) I had some fun with the modeling here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65