Dark Photograph's

in #art6 years ago

Hello again everyone!
So I have been rummaging through old boxes and posting some of the old work I have while I am currently finishing up my graphic novel Second Wind, and I came across my old negatives from college. By old, they are really only about 6 years old at this point but that's long enough for me to think it is old work.
Regardless it has been fun to stumble across this old material. I scanned in a couple of my favorite photos and I may post some more as I come across them. These two were probably among my all time top favorites:
.
.
.
.
HORSE2.jpg
HORSE.jpg
.
.

I shot these images with a medium format Hasselblad 500C camera in the middle of the night. These were all a bunch of horse trophies I found at my local DAV in which I cut the horse statuettes off of the top. I then lined them up and lit one on fire to get the exposure (the concrete outside of my apartment never quite looked right from the mixture of melted caustic plastic and kerosene). It was a weird thing to do but hey, it was college. It's the time to experiment and in the end I think it made a pretty interesting image.

I really like this next photograph as well. I shot it in my first film photography class on the first snow of the year. The grainy quality was not intentional and is actually the product of a crappy exposure (thanks to shooting in the ridiculous lighting conditions of snow), but it looks like an album cover to a 90's Norwegian black metal album so... I like it.

GRAVEYARD.jpg
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.
.
.
.
..
.

Of course these are the cropped versions. The original negatives look like this:

GRAVEYARD.jpg
HORSE.jpg

I'll post more as I come across them.
As always you can check out all of my regular work at https://www.vestebancomics.com/

VESTEBAN SIGNATURE.jpg

Sort:  

These are very nice, Justin :) I love the drama in both of them <3 Gorgeous photography work ! You are multi talented * ___ *

Congratulations @vesteban! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75