You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living statue - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago

I like that you're always exploring the relationship between yourself and your arts and furthermore, seems like there is an unseen and undulating effects that you thought might be exciting to explore by adding a living statue element and then by involving yourself as an actor to provide a fleeting and almost ethereal experience to the potential audience of your artworks :)

I mean, I think it is wonderful, this idea marries the elusive in-the-moment experience of a theatre to your sand sculpture! Maybe I'm wording things badly, but people think of paintings and solid sculptures are 'forever' and your artworks have always been ephemeral, for lack of better words. There is something to be said about having the fortune of experiencing such artworks, like yours, and the acting adds to that particular preciousness...

Anyway, I'll stop rambling now. I love it, @ammonite <3 A gorgeous and artistic exploration <3

Sort:  

Wow @veryspider, what a wonderful comment and it sums up alot of my thinking about what I do. One of the things that I love about ephemeral sculpture is that it can't be owned, except by the beholder. Nothing in this world lasts forever and for me knowing my work will be gone makes me enjoy the creation of it all the more. It is like a creative energy that needs to be spent but what is bought with it is an experience and not a possession. It all gets quite philosophical.
Writing these posts, as I do, gives me a buzz as it brings me back to that moment and hopefully I can carry my audience with me.
Thanks as always for your in depth critique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60