You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beauty is only skin deep - sand sclpture

in #art5 years ago

I love this post, @ammonite :) Apologies for the late in commenting, too, it has been very hectic for me but as you know, I adore your talents, your thoughts, and your values.

This particular one speaks such beautiful volume about the idea of beauty, as in that it exists in the eye of the beholder. The execution of this idea being contextualized in the form of a conical shape with rotating parts is just super creative and very charming :) In a way, your artwork does not only speak about how people can be affected by what things are attractive to them but also of our insecurities of trying to swap what we have with what we do not have (with surgeries and the clever use of fashion, etc.)

Also, also I love how you wrote about your experience with sculpting at this location. Seems like there was and there is still a lot of complex situations and propaganda in that area. It is disheartening when people are othering other people. I think you take a respectable stance on this matter.

And finally, I really like how you shared your winnings amongst the other carvers :) Such a gorgeous act of camaraderie !

Very lovely post, Daniel <3 I really love this one :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much and for you sending @ocd my way. I really means a lot. I love the way you give so much attention to posts and to the Steem community.
This writing things about my work is still quite new to me and i am still trying to find a style and approach to the whole thing. It is comments like yours that gives me encouragement to open up more and let the words flow from the memories of my work.
I love how you interpret the sculpture also about people choosing to change their appearance. It wasn't on my mind while making it but now I see that this is a really interesting and apt meaning to the piece.
Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60