Breathing Life into a Faun

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I never know what I’m going to create while sculpting and I find that things take shape much faster when I’m sculpting versus drawing/painting. I’m absolutely smitten with this faun which has finally appeared after hours of shaping. 

I felt troubled earlier in the day because I had planned on drawing something digitally but my eyes were still dilated from my eye exam. It’s been 7 hours since my earlier post “A sculpture that doesn’t know what it wants to be” and I’m just now recovering my sight. Determination definitely played a key role in the completion of this piece.  

With dazed eyes, I started adding clay to the cheeks, center of the forehead and bridge of the nose. I also formed a narrow v-shaped chin. Ever so often, I would turn to the guys and command them to look at my work. I’d also ask to hear their thoughts on what they presumed this creature may be. I repeated this process every 20 minutes or so.

I started to mess around with different eyelid, nose, and lip shapes. I thought about how cool this creature would look with a gem in the center of it’s face. @tarotbyfergus warned me that a real crystal might bring this creature to life and it would cause a lot of mischief. 

Can you tell that the sun is going down in this image? I was having such an enjoyable time sculpting. I decided to pinch the tip of the ears to make them more pointed. I also added more clay to the nose to reshape it. Both @kommienezuspadt and @tarotbyfergus agreed that it was starting to look like a faun.

The lips started to take shape and I was finally satisfied. This sculpture had changed so many times and I had no idea what it would end up as. I must’ve looked silly running around @caffetto showing off my work. It was hard to contain my excitement. Heck, I was so excited that I couldn’t wait to share these images with everyone here on Steemit! 

Here’s the finished faun sculpture with a few finishing touches. I blended the harsh lines from where the face and fur met, I also lightly smoothed a few areas. I might play with the textures a little bit more before this goes into the oven. I’m also planning on casting a mold because I’d like to paint it and do some other things. I’m full of ideas.



Thanks for stopping by to see this beautiful creature come to life.

Would you be interested if I decided to sell my sculptures? 🦊

Sort:  

Eeeeep! >.< This made me so happy. Now he just needs friends!

I know! I’m trying to decide on what to sculpt next!

What about this lil fella?
image.png

Hahahah cute! It kinda looks like he’s giving everyone an awkward smile. I like it!

that's a very cool talent! What type of clay - is the type to be fired?

Yep, it is! Just throw it in the oven. :)

That is one fine faun:D

Haha, why does this sound like a dad joke?

It's looking very cute :D Just a head or will there be a body later on down the track? I like sculpting, though all mine is digital XD

goatsig

I’d love to get into digital sculpting. Just the head. I’ve got big plans for this critter.

It looks great. It has been far too long since I did any real non-digital sculpting. I think i need to go find my milliput again, see if it is dried out completely

Thank you. :) Sculpting is something that I never knew I missed until recently. I’d love to see you sculpt something that’s not digital.

This is too cool!! l got some clay too that lm planing to make some monsters soon.. :)
please, show some more!! xx
p.s. kinda reminds me of the movie 'you're next'!

Yeah!!!! Do it! I’m going to try to do some digital drawing today and I brought more clay just Incase.
I’ve never heard of that movie but I’m assuming it’s a monster film?

He's so lovely... these ears :)

Thank you so much. Yeah, it started off with the ears so that’s great to see that they still stand out in its completion.

This is happy dance and all-kinds-of-cuteness-in-your-belly type of material ha ha honestly this is just way too amazing!

Thanks darling!! 😊 It was really fun making this and crazy how it came to be. I was skipping around the coffee shop showing it off.

Id be skipping and dancing too haha💜

Do you ever sculpt with your eyes closed and just imagine what you are creating? It works for me, Just wondering if anyone else used the same methods. Very cute little fawn. 🐓🐓

No, but I should give it a try! I’m usually looking outside or lost in thought while I’m going to work. Then I look down and something interesting appears! :D

You gotta go with whatever works. 🐓🐓

Great vermillionfox nice post.

I love your dashboard and how you're able to keep things organized so as to track your progress.
I'm just curious how you're able to setup a pretty and decent dashboard for your activities on the Steem blockchain. Is this feature available to everyone? I'm still finding my way around here on Steemit.

Check my article about pic of the day

You can find the article here pic of the day

I will follow you!

Scammer! Watch out ... look at the Steemit Link. it's șteemit.com when it should be Steemit.com. Don't be redirected by the Link and sign-in into the Fake website. You'll lose Access to your Account. Please Read this Post by @steemitguide

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95