Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #83 'The Shadow'

in #art7 years ago

The name of this art photograph is: 'The Shadow'

Usually, the shadow is a secondary element. Here we have a different story. Shadow is the main one and a person diminished to legs is the secondary. Quite interesting, isn't it? The legs are located in the darker third of the image, while the shadow is in the two thirds that are light. This gives the shadow far more space and importance, therefore also the primary element attribute. Notice how the round part of the shadow falls exactly to the bottom right golden cut. That's also why our attention is drawn to it almost instantly.

Very little usage of colour removes the dissipation of observer's attention and focuses it on the contrast, accentuating the shadow. Pink works very well against the green in the dark part.

The following concept is quite hard to explain, so please bear with me. Four and a half white squares in the top right corner, together with a little breath of light pink colour make a counterpart to the rest of the elements in the dark area. The dark shadow and the grey left bottom corner do exactly the same for the light area which is mostly covered in light pink. Observe carefully that amounts of light and dark appearing as if were carefully measured.

It's funny that you cannot really see where the traffic sign post ends and its shadow begins. That effect creates a surreal touch to this quite mysterious looking photograph.

Enjoy! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I strongly encourage all efforts leading to weeding out all of the dishonest authors.





• For good inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!


• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin @zeartul and @ausbitbank for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.






I am a member of @buildteam crew. The innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports

I support @adsactly project and see it as a welcome addition to Steemit.com community.





Join @adsactly society! The channel is here: https://discord.gg/7mqmx2M

Sort:  

Great photo! Great thoughts!

Loading...

you are a good photographer but you are a great thinker

thank you!

you have a very brilliant mind ...you just got me addicted to your blog

Thank you very much. :)

That certainly plays with the mind lol thanks fr sharing interesting photographs :) @velimir

Wow im confused from that shadow

Your pictures spacing me out man. Not to be looked at when eating shrooms

HAHAHAHHAA! You just made me laugh!

Wow, really interesting photo! Thanks so much for sharing it and why it is unique. #theunmentionables

Thank you very much for your kind comment :)

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

My friend, @velimir Here is a well deserved up-vote for you! I never forget anyone who helps me become stronger and you fed me with 1 STEEM since 15 days ago. Your effort meets my strength and enables me to help you and your friends even more!

I will now also call in my friend @OriginalWorks who will check the originality of your post and upvote as well!

Yours, Spinny

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @fibra59 and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @velimir to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47