Chacoal Woman

in #art7 years ago

charcoal woman.jpg
Charcoal of a Woman, 2012.

When I started drawing again regularly (around 2011) charcoal was my go to medium. It's the medium I would recommend to people starting to draw/not confident with drawing for a few reasons:

  1. It's fun - DON'T WORRY ABOUT THE OUTCOME, enjoy yourself.. it's a cheap hobby.
  2. It's bold - don't hold back, make a shit load of marks!
  3. It's expressive - if you're more interested in creating impressions and less into photo realism and that sort of thing, this is the one.
  4. Its versatile - there are hundreds of different marks you can make on paper with a simple stick of charcoal.
  5. You learn how tone works - try smudging!

When starting out I would advise drawing as freely and boldly as possible using no intricate lines, i would also recommend doing this on very cheap paper (i use wallpaper lining meters of which you can buy very cheaply from a DIY store!).

Get drawing and enjoy!!

Peace
Sam

life drawing.jpg

Charcoal life drawing

Sort:  

I too love to mix ink with charcoal !!! i loved your detailing and maybe you should check out my first painting that i posted yesterday !!! reviews from an artist like your self would be good
https://steemit.com/art/@chapterclosed/promise-of-an-evening-art-01

This is Awesome Work

Followed !!!

Thank you prakashghai, followed back! good luck!

Thank You
And good luck to you too :)

good art - i like it and i also paint so i will follow you to keep the connection

thank you. Have followed you and will check your stuff. Lets keep in touch. Peace

those are amazing. i wish i could draw like that... i try but i am not so good

Thank you very much, appreciate your words! I will check your page out.. Peace

you are welcome

I love this work. Very glad you recommended I have a look. I especially love the detail and accuracy of the figure lying down. Inalso love the way you've captured how the body moves when lying down.

Well thanks a lot, appreciate the comment alioops! Will keep following your work.

And I will most definitely be following your work and whatever you post for us to see.

P.S. I love the wallpaper lining idea. My mum used to do that for us kids years ago as a discount option to keep us quiet.

Nice artwork. Keep them coming

Thanks a lot! will check your stuff out

Beautiful! I agree with all your reasons here too.

I'm glad I came over as I love following creative people that inspire me.

Ah thanks a lot @mamadini - inspiration is the key! Will keep the connection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57