How's the artist community?!

in #art7 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I'm having a hard time finding quality artists here on the platform...where is everyone hiding?! Where are the animators, illustrators and filmmakers! Any suggestions of people to follow would be greatly appreciated. :D

Also, any artists who stumble upon this and have ben apart of the community for more than a few months...I'd love some insight into how this community works and what I should focus on to engage the artistic community here.

Here's an illustration I wrapped up not too long ago titled "Shocker," from a series of mine called "Wild Youth." I figure I'll start posting some of my illustration work on here and see how it does. I use to do a lot of time-lapse for these in the past but sort of got away from that. Hoping to dive back into the series soon!

WildYouth_Shocker.jpg

Thanks for peepin'

Sort:  

This little guy is awesome. Looks like a nasty battle with the six-eyed creatures.

You have great work and you are an amazing artist. I hate to say this and maybe you have heard this before but you may be overqualified... for Steemit... ha ha - just kidding. Sometimes it takes a while to get noticed even for celebrities. Everything you are putting up is great... the illustrations, the process, the animation. You have to be a little patient here but please keep posting! The platform is going to grow huge this year and with your talent you will really have an opportunity to grow with it. More artists, illustrators and filmmakers and animators will be joining.

In the mean time check out some of these people. This is how it works you start following and commenting and then they get curious about you and check your stuff. You can also enter art competitions to meet people and get noticed.

@stellabelle (she is one of the top Steemians and an artist and has a discord channel for artists where you can meet and chat with others off of Steemit)
@overkillcoin is an illustrator and designs some very cool creatures.
There is a very good Italian artist on Steemit. I need to check to find him and I will forward more suggestions.

Thanks so much for the help! Will definitely check out these members. I'm finding it a little hard to accurately search for things, so tips like this are really great. I'm finding discord to be a pretty popular place for steemit members (and crypto communities in general).

Regarding platform's growth, yeah I've recommended the site to a few people and they're still waiting on their accounts to be approved from weeks ago!

Cool! There is another way to quickly join if any of your friends have a little bit of crypto (about $20). Just go here, pick a username and send the funds: https://anon.steem.network/

One of our Steemit witnesses @someguy123 has created this sign up portal. The only difference is that Steemit.com does not pay the fee for them... but no waiting.

Have you tried checking the hashtags? Sometimes I run into some great artists just by reading comments or seeing people's entries in contests. I try to support good work.

Yeah I recently started checking out the hashtags and that's been helping to find other artists for sure. Thanks for the tip!

No problem, hopefully you have found some of your liking. There's new people coming in with great talent .

@stahlberg is 3D artist
@shinyforest can give you some art info
go to the steem-cartoon https://steemit.com/trending/steem-cartoon and see what you would like there.

Thanks for help! I appreciate it. :D

hi nice to see you in this place, your work is very good,
look at my steemit page @fraktale i make design and other visual arts

You could check out @juliakponsford's blog as she does a lot of art competitions. You might find some people who interest you from that.

I also came across this guy the other day, who's got some very cool VR stuff on his blog. @anticleric

Hey thanks! I'll check out these members for sure. I'm definitely coming across a lot of art competitions.

Oh here is someone else I found recently, who I really like. He's making very cool models of things. @mitchhunter

Www.steemit.com/trending/steem-cartoon
Also check #slothicorn tag
But only steem-cartoon will take you to teammalaysia awesome illustrators!
I have a huge list i will try to paste it here xD hold on!

2018-01-19-18-58-24.png
2018-01-19-18-58-34.png
2018-01-19-18-58-49.png
2018-01-19-18-58-58.png

Sorry it's the best I can do but that list won't dissapoint you :P

I've just joined. I want to get back to my daily animation challenge. I don't see a lot of exposure for artists on steemit. I'm afraid this is not the right platform for artists.
I see that you accumulated some followers in a few days. That gives me hope.

I am an artist, the only art I’ve managed to post is my slothicorn entry ! Definitely need to post more of the work I have... 🙂

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14