Art Trail Contest #5 entry, painting: Unexplored Territory

in #art7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

My Entry for the Fifth Art Trail Contest in the painting category

Unexplored Territory
12x16
Oil on Canvas
Paint is still wet.

Here is a record of previous versions so you can see how drastically it has been changed. The pictures are not great but I am using an old iPad camera.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

I really need to watch some oil painting WIP's to learn tips and tricks. I love the look of it but it keeps stumping me.

Sort:  

Wow, the colors are amazing. I love it :)

Thank you! I worked hard on it.

Yeah, I can see you worked hard. Keep up the good work!

Hi @twirble, another amazing painting - I'm very much a fan of your style. Something you may try with oils- ive noticed you have mostly textured lines. You can improve the contrast and sophistication of your painting by thinning your paint in places to get clean lines. You can do this with white spirit, turps or linseed/safflower oil. I hope this helps!

Thank you for the compliments and the advice. I need to learn mediums with oils. I was using this fast drying medium for water based oils so I could do more layering. , it does not spread as thinly as I would like and it remained sticky even when dry. I tried mixing it with thinner toward the end. I think I will begin with acrylic more from now on and use other mediums.

Very cool abstract work, I love the colors and composition

Thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48