Playing with the dream thingie

in #art7 years ago

A few weeks back Carl Nash @gnashster wrote this outstanding article about Deep Dream Generator by Google. After seeing the results of other people's experiments and more from the man himself, I finally got my butt in gear to check it out. I tried it tonight and I am in love.

Deep Dream Generator Tutorial

Here are some of my results:

before shot; birch trees in the rocky mountains

two renditions after deep style


There are three main settings. Deep style, Thin style, and deep dream. I like the deep dream because it has the masks that I feel like experimenting with more. The other two deal more with color, whereas the deep dream, imho, deals with pattern.

At the same time I have gotten better results with the deep style, as evidenced above.


mountain pass, rocky mnt national park


I'm sure I'll be continuing this as soon as I pick out a folder of neat patterns to experiment with and get a better idea of what works with the generator. Simpler seems to work better. And after all, art is one part ingenuity and three parts experimentation. Can't wait to try some more... Thanks Carl!



all photos property of torico; all rights reserved


Sort:  

ty sammo - muah!

I love these! So trippy! I'll have to try it out. I use an app called Prisma on my iPad that does some of those things but not the really trippy ones. Upvoting and following. I'm collecting artists.

they are trippy! and also fun! i'm starting a series that looks at the different styles available in the gallery as what they offer is too small to really get a grasp of the detail. if you are into collecting artists, check out the steem art server on discord!

I will check it out!

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This is very unusual and a wonder what can be done if you know how! Happy Steeming

thanks! i'm waiting for @gnashster to put out his next article on this as he is the definitive expert from my perspective. i'm just a beginning dabbler. but so far its terrific!

Can you post a link to your DDG gallery so i gan give you some upvotes?

never thought of that lol. i dont have much online visible, so i'd have to go thru and make a bunch of it public first. i'll work on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79