A Day at the Museum D'Orsay -- Traveling Through Paintings #12

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Welcome on a tour through one of the most amazing art exhibitions in Paris!

 
Actually, there are almost too many museums to count there; and if you are fortunate to visit Paris one day you should plan plenty of time for discovering the world of art!

The museum I am inviting you to today is Museé d'Orsay 😊

Museé d'Orsay resides in a very large hall which was originally a train station. Now it is rebuilt into a museum and houses one of the most famous paintings from Van Gogh to Monet and Renoir (just to name a few), but houses also statues and several intriguing art collections.

Come walk with me as we travel through the many paintings 👩‍🌾


No artists could truly capture that significance and liveliness I was sure. But what separates a good artist from one who has mastered his or her profession is that this quality is there in the painting; between the cracks, within the colors, the shape and form and lines that connect it. It is something that you cannot learn from someone, but instead it is learned from nature. And thereby one has to observe nature ever so closely...

After some time, the artist lay down his brush and stepped back from his painting. He beckoned to the man that he had made a portrait of to take a look for himself. He seemed very satisfied and thanked the painter for his work. They talked a bit more and after a moment their conversation was ended with a handshake and a friendly smile. Soon there was only the artist and myself in the room and I watched him as he cleaned his brushes and palette.

The painter had brown-reddish hair and a full grown beard in the same color. His facial outline was very distinctive and I thought that I had seen him before somewhere.

Im-43.jpg

Finally he looked at me with a calm expression and I felt that he wanted me to tell him who I was. I told him that I was a traveler and somewhat of an artist myself and that I had walked for some days before reaching this city and this atelier. He nodded in approval when I told him my story and I watched him continue to walk through his room as he picked up and moved several of his belongings.

When I asked him about how I ended up here specifically - that is, how I entered the room from a cathedral - he didn't really seem to understand. Instead, he shrugged of my conundrum with a smile. He told me that all sorts of people came to his studio and that he never knew where they came from. But he said that they all came through this door from which I had come as well. When I asked him if he had ever tried to exit this door his forehead became wrinkled and he reflected that he actually hadn't. Although he found this to be curious he didn't seem to be very bothered about this and so he continued to clean up his room.

We talked for a while longer before he finally asked me if I was also interested to have a painting of myself. Intrigued by his offer I thankfully accepted and so I sat there on the chair and watched as he began to paint.

Continue here...

Sort:  

I like the creative story you wrote for this post.

We were all born artists, but few people realize it.

👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60