You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small Seascape Painting - The Importance of Sketching and Composition

in #art7 years ago

Love this kind of dramatic landscapes and your way of showing how the composition is built up by the rocks.
I'm a landscape amatuer photographer, but often check paintings and other art to get inspired. Especially interested in how we see and react to different compositions.
What is your opinion of why the first colour study wasn't correct?

Sort:  

I'm always taking photos of landscapes for paintings but I am finding that being a landscape artist helps me with composition when editing my photos. The reason I didn't like the first composition is that all the action and weight was on the right side of the painting and so it was totally unbalanced. I have since been incorporating the golden ratio 1:1.618 into my compositions which really helps with positioning focal points and areas of interest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50