Small Seascape Painting - The Importance of Sketching and Composition

in #art7 years ago

This small painting served as a colour study for a larger painting, in  the end I thought the composition could be improved so I ended painting another one just to get it right.

Piha Wild Sea, 8" x 10", oil on wooden panel

When designing a composition for a landscape painting it's so important to start sketching first of all. I start with thumbnail pencil sketches.

This was the final sketch

And this was the first colour study

I wasn't happy with the composition so I went back to my sketch book and redesigned it. This was the next colour study I did which I was much happier with.

This was the final painting

Piha Wild Sea, 400mm x 500mm, oil on canvas.

Composition details.

I hope you liked this article, check out my website for more paintings: Samuel Earp Artist

Sort:  

Wow beautiful, thank you for going more in depth and explaining your thought process.

Thanks @juliank, I want to help other artists with their painting in the same way other people have helped me with my art journey. I upload my paintings, art tips and my landscape / tree photos here on Steemit :)

Great work, even though you will not get me started with painting I believe that your content holds great value for those who are. I followed you and will upvote everything I like from you if I have the chance. Good luck with your journey here on steemit :)

Thanks @juliank, very much appreciated. I have followed you too :)

Always great to hear the thought process for art - lots of contemplation for good composition.

Lovely piece. Thanks for sharing your process!

Really good article. And yes it made a big difference.

Thanks @katdvine, I love painting landscapes and landscape art in general :)

Very nice, I like the explanation and focus point!
Keep it up, I like to see more of this kind of stuff.
Voted & resteemed.

Thanks @tomekkk, I had a an artist friend who helped me loads with my painting process and explaining composition...it helped me so much, so I like to share and pass on the information.

That's cool, always nice to see people pass down the knowledge of their trade or hobbies.

I loved this post so I just checked out your website as well - great work ! (I mostly enjoyed the seascapes, I love the sea and have similar paintings!)
I like how you explained everything above - plus you are an amazing artist!
It is a given that I followed ;) Keep up the good work and give us more - your fans need you !!

Thanks @meanmommy33, glad you like my art work. I hope to share more of my painting knowledge on Steemit :)

Do you have a website?

And hope to see more, yes! :)
For my architectural photography this is my blog https://photographyandarchitecture.wordpress.com/ and for my writing this is my other blog haha http://meanmommy.simplesite.com/ Enjoy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50