🎨 REVELATION 20

in #art7 years ago (edited)


And I saw an angel coming down out of heaven, having the key to the Abyss and holding in his hand a great chain. He seized the dragon, that ancient serpent, who is the devil, or Satan, and bound him for a thousand years.
He threw him into the Abyss, and locked and sealed it over him, to keep him from deceiving the nations anymore until the thousand years were ended.
~ Revelation 20


REVELATION 20


It's been a long time ago I painted this, some 23 years ago, but I remember the struggle as if it was yesterday. There are layers of stuff over-painted, and the one that was the biggest challenge was to paint that chalice. If one would x-ray this thing, what was underneath was pure crap. The image of the beast I had no problem with, the only part of the painting without corrections.

Revelation 20.jpg

While I have it listed, I am reluctant to sell it. It has become one of my 'signature' paintings. There are only about 5 works that I really would not want to let go.


I 'milked' the image on many occasions - such as for this calendar cover:

ART OF THE MYSTIC CALENDAR


Calendarfront-version1comp copyWEB.jpg
Note:
The interior calendar will always remain relevant.
Every July the calendar is automatically updated to show the next Calendar year.
The calendar contains 14 beautiful images, 12 interior images and 2 cover images, printed on thick spiral bound 8.5 x 11 inch (22 x 28 cm) paper. The week will start on Sunday and end on Saturday.

CALENDAR VERSION 1



Here are some details:

SH1096480001-combo-web.jpg

SH1096490001-comboweb.jpg


When I moved back from Canada to Austria in 2011, I rented a studio at the Palais Palffy in downtown Vienna. Ernst Fuchs was my studio neighbor, here he is examining my painting at the Palffy Gallery:
IMAG0274-Otto Rapp-and-Ernst Fuchs-1000.jpg

From time to time I was using details from this painting to create digital designs used on a variety of merchandise:

REVELATION 20 - detail-combo-web.jpg

On VIDA I used this design (among other options) - pictured is a sheer wrap and a multi-wear wrap:
REVELATION - 2 wraps.jpg

See the Design REVELATION by Otto Rapp on other Fashions at VIDA

Prints and related merchandise you find here: REVELATIONS 20 on Pixels
such as this i-phone case:
Revelation I-Phone Case.JPG



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg



13122819_875562545923591_2724879621137156873_o-crp500sm.jpg
at the Ernst Fuchs Museum

About - Introduction on Steemit

Sort:  

Some times the hardest to make looking part are the lesser evil. Or you're just used to do such things. The Detail is insane!
Cheers!

Nice work, chalice really well done !

like I said, it was a challenge and there are layers of crappy stuff underneath, until I found just the right model. Not quite, but I thought I came close. Chalice of the Abbot Suger of Saint-Denis
RV-AI475_MASTER_G_20121019031944.jpg
I worked my logo into the base of the chalice.
Painstakingly reproducing something is not my thing. For that, I am too impatient.

I was too and art learn me each day to progress. I think you are enough to do complex drawing. That's relative :-)

As silver and bronze restorer i've worked very often on chalices but this one is extraordinary

I found it in a book about early Christian art. But I didn't know it is in the USA, rather than in France, where it would belong! It was stolen in 1804 from the Cabinet National des Médailles et Antiques and then passed through several private hands , from England to the USA in around 1920 before it wound up as a gift in 1942 at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC.
The fine filigran details reminded me of Etruscan gold work.

I think it is in National gallery of art. Last collector was Joseph Widener who was a funding benefactor of this museum.

yes - but initially, it was stolen and it really belongs to France. Reminds me of the case of Klimt's Adele - except that one was sued for and they won (in spite of Adele Bloch-Bauer's will to place it in the Belvedere in Vienna, where it had hung for years).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portrait_of_Adele_Bloch-Bauer_I - but then what appeared to be the deciding factor was that the Nazi had stolen it, but turned it over to the Belvedere Museum. But because it was Nazi that stole it, and not British, as the case with this chalice ...........

Museums are filed with stolen stuff :-D

Ernst Fuchs was my studio neighbor

Wow! I actually used some unrepeatable bad language when I read this I was so in awe.
The painting is so intricate and alive with colour and pattern- I can see why Ernst Fuchs was admiring it.

I am good friends with most of his family - his son Michael Fuchs painted my portrait, his former daughter in-law is my agent. Partying until the ambulance comes - he was quite into parties. This was a few years ago, I think 2012. Charity gala at the Radisson in Vienna. Unfortunately, he passed away in 2015. I had visited him at the villa a week earlier, promised to come back the next week. I had an accident and never made it.
318381_10150278821677470_579422469_8038526_354558373_n.jpg
at the Fuchs Villa -
7a8dac3d5beb9ff1a1236bb358f7182b.jpg
Birthday party at the Palais Palffy -
63bbeb0fbc8b5850de2ef51cd0432faa.jpg

Congratulations @thermoplastic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The detail and imagination are incredible! Had to look twice on the i-phone case to see what this thing in the upper right corner was!

haha - yes, comes out good in print, particularly on a size like that. Pixels got a ton of merch I am putting my stuff on. You can even get a bathroom curtain, lol. Maybe even too much detail: this is painted on a rough canvas, and you can see the knobs when you enlarge it. Now I know better what surface I paint on. The good thing with these cases is that they update them automatically whenever a new model comes out. That was not the case with Zazzle. There I had to go back and redo the design onto the latest cases. Too much work, so I gave up on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3316.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66