You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎨GALLERY TREADWELL IN VIENNA

in #art6 years ago (edited)

are you quite well? forgot to take your meds?
there is informed criticism, and there is opinion.
Unlike @whornung who has known Nick Treadwell for decades, I knew Nick only for a year, but I had known many of the artists he promoted and collected, often at the beginning of their careers; and I known some of them for decades myself, so I felt qualified to make an assessment based on my knowledge and experience, and can thus say that his choices, for the most part, were predictors of future greatness, which many of those artists in his collection have become. It's just the tip of the iceberg I recorded, the works he has could fill a museum. I think of him to be an icon of our genre, the post-surrealist movement, and sort of a bulwark in the stream of post-impressionism that so shaped the sixties (a curse we have yet to shake off almost 60 years later after Piero Manzoni and Merda d'artista of 1961).

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55