You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life is But a Dream

in #art7 years ago

"For years I have had the thought, that perhaps in my dreams, I am living another life, a parallel one."
You must know this, by Master Zhuang:
Once upon a time, I, Chuang Chou, dreamt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and thither, a veritable butterfly, enjoying itself to the full of its bent, and not knowing it was Chuang Chou. Suddenly I awoke, and came to myself, the veritable Chuang Chou. Now I do not know whether it was then I dreamt I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly dreaming I am a man.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zhuang_Zhou

Sort:  

No I haven't Otto. But I think I have encountered something similar. We'd better be careful how we treat those butterflies, lest we be hurting ourselves. ;-)

A short paraphrase of this is used in the play Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosencrantz_and_Guildenstern_Are_Dead
The reason I know this is because I acted in this play decades ago at the UofL Theater.
The story is bizarre, surreal and dream-like, so the quote fits.

I saw the film, it was brilliant!

so did I - and unbelievably, the whole thing is on You Tube:

On YouTube for only so long... until it ends up like two above. ;-)

I seen 3 versions posted so far, one goes back to 2012. When I like something, I download it. Usually, with certain movie companies (or the BBC) things don't last long on YouTube. I downloaded Robert Hughes art series "The Shock of the New" before it got pulled again.

Sounds like you have a decent video collection to raid then.

Wooow! Tim Roth and Gary Oldman?! So watching!

This inspired me to post one of my favorite novels - and doing a search, I discovered the whole movie of this on You Tube, which I added to my post:
https://steemit.com/book/@thermoplastic/the-lathe-of-heaven

I'll check it out.

Have you ever seen "Waking Life"?

no, I haven't, but the interesting thing on doing a quick search is that one of the posters for this is largely derivative of one of Ursula Le Guin's book covers for Lathe of Heaven. So there must be a connection, or else the same graphic artist
Whoa, found the whole movie on
Vimeo:

Yes! That's the one. =) Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44