You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REVELATION 20

in #art7 years ago (edited)

like I said, it was a challenge and there are layers of crappy stuff underneath, until I found just the right model. Not quite, but I thought I came close. Chalice of the Abbot Suger of Saint-Denis
RV-AI475_MASTER_G_20121019031944.jpg
I worked my logo into the base of the chalice.
Painstakingly reproducing something is not my thing. For that, I am too impatient.

Sort:  

I was too and art learn me each day to progress. I think you are enough to do complex drawing. That's relative :-)

As silver and bronze restorer i've worked very often on chalices but this one is extraordinary

I found it in a book about early Christian art. But I didn't know it is in the USA, rather than in France, where it would belong! It was stolen in 1804 from the Cabinet National des Médailles et Antiques and then passed through several private hands , from England to the USA in around 1920 before it wound up as a gift in 1942 at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC.
The fine filigran details reminded me of Etruscan gold work.

I think it is in National gallery of art. Last collector was Joseph Widener who was a funding benefactor of this museum.

yes - but initially, it was stolen and it really belongs to France. Reminds me of the case of Klimt's Adele - except that one was sued for and they won (in spite of Adele Bloch-Bauer's will to place it in the Belvedere in Vienna, where it had hung for years).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portrait_of_Adele_Bloch-Bauer_I - but then what appeared to be the deciding factor was that the Nazi had stolen it, but turned it over to the Belvedere Museum. But because it was Nazi that stole it, and not British, as the case with this chalice ...........

Museums are filed with stolen stuff :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66