Turtle Lamp Gets a New Shell: Broken Shade/Shell Made From Stained Glass PiecessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A turtle without a shell is a sad sight.


I once found a working cast-iron sea turtle desk lamp in a junk pile, but it had no shade. After thinking about it for a few days, I made a shade for the lamp and a shell for the turtle with some stained glass.

The Turtle's Cast Iron Chassis


A turtle without a shell is a sad sight, and a lamp without a shade is just hard to look at, so it didn't take long for me to start thinking of ways to help out the iron turtle, and get a new desk lamp too.

I used what was available around the house/studio to make the shade. First I made some measurements, then I bent a length of coat-hanger wire into a frame for the lamp. When the shape was made to fit on the iron turtle, I covered the wire frame in Sculpy modeling clay, rolled a sewing thimble over the soft clay for texture, and baked according to instructions.

Copper Wire and Stained Glass


Once the frame was baked hard, I started wrapping small broken pieces of stained glass in copper wire.

frame of sculpy clay


Here then, is the finished shell:

It's shape is retained with a bit of chicken wire.




Turtle Meets Shell


Now the two pieces can be put together, and the other lights can go off for the full effect of the turtle desk lamp.








thanks for looking at my lamp, and now if you ever find a cast iron sea turtle desk lamp in a junk pile, you'll know how to fix it.

all images by me

@therealpaul

Sort:  

I thought this was a real turtle. I was going to be like you're the MVp. But cool art.

That would be a fancy, fragile turtle! This glass shell is heavy too, it would wear the turtle out hauling it around.

If I was a turtle, I would want you as my owner.

I like turtles a lot- you'd be well taken care of if you were a turtle of mine.

Very simple and creative repair !
In the end - Nice piece of art.
Tomorrow I will go look for my turtle ...
=]

You have to go to the junk heap early; the best turtles go quickly.

=)))))))))))))
Thanks for advice.
I am already putting my sleepers on and running ...
Will grab one for my self.
Do you want me to hold second turtle for you ???
=]

No I can't have another turtle desk lamp, I'd have to clean off the desk to make room for it!

Beautiful! Love it! Love stained glass... :D
😄😇😄

@creatr

Me too, and I have a box of assorted pieces of stained glass for just such things as this.

How do you think of these things? Anyway, I like it and the turtle lamp gets a 2nd chance at life and gets a good home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15