Bright Beach Fun- Coloring for Clarity

in #art6 years ago

IMG_20180620_141930263.jpg

When I first saw this page, it immediately reminded me of the lines on a spectrogram, a visual representation for sounds made by frequencies. These are pictures of the sounds that we so deftly translate into cognitive concepts to share thoughts and experiences.
IMG_20180528_105240523.jpg

I wanted to play a bit with warm and cool colors, but wanted to show restraint in the palate. I loved the mustard yellow against both the dark and light blues and wanted red and orange to really punch it home. The colors ended up reminding me of the color blocked beach balls, a happy accident for a summer piece. Once I had made that association, I also began to see waves crashing over one another in the design.

IMG_20180620_141938563.jpg
Medium: Felt tip pens

A close up on the image starts to mess with perspective a bit and I think begins to add dimension to the piece. This piece helped me achieve greater mindfulness about tough discussions that revolved around an aging relative and the emotions I was feeling. I could distract my brain from indulging and following these emotions and instead simply acknowledge and dismiss them to return to a focus on breathing or pen strokes.

Collage 2018-05-10 13_54_20.jpg

There were no votes for the next image on my last post so I'm giving you all the chance again, but I already have my favorite in mind. Let me know what you thought of the beach ball page or the next medium to try out and share with any other artists for more participation in #ColoringforClarity.

And remember, the STEEM work makes the dream work! ;*

Sort:  

Congratulations @thedreamsteem! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16