The Stains of Chaos No. 1 - Digital Abstract Painting

in #art7 years ago

The Stains of Chaos No. 1



Right click and select "Open Image In New Tab" to see a larger version of it.


The Inspiration For This

This is another abstract experiment in Corel Painter 18.

I was experimenting here with using the Sargent brushes (based on the work of John Singer Sargent).

I've described before how hard it seems to be to get the chaos inherent in natural textures using digital painting.

These brushes seem to be ideal in simulating those types of textures. It is still quite hard work to get a natural look though and requires a lot of effort which is quite ironic!

I went through lots of layers both adding and deleting to get it where it looked right to me.

In the end it looks reminiscent of a stained surface to me, or also some types of natural mineral formation.

I hope you like it.

Also (as I usually say) feel free to use it in your own posts if you can find a use for it.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  

I liked it very much.....it looks absolutely natural!!!

how did you earn $106.84 in only 52minutes. Nice.
I will also upvote this post via %100 power.

Upvoted. It breaks $108.17.
Congratulation

Thank you. Sometimes they get more, sometimes less!

Yeah must be some kind of record! Well done!

Apt title. I was thinking it looked like a sandstorm. Awesome piece. I was reading a chapter of a story where the protagonists got caught up in a sandstorm and I can imagine this is how it would've been if that scene was illustrated.

Thanks. Yes it seems that it really says sandstorm to people! I have been in a sandstorm (thankfully I was indoors so got to see it safely from a window) and it is quite amazing how dark it can get and how the landscape vanishes. It looks like a special effect.

I really like this one - actually, it reminds me more of Tuner's work - I immediately thought of Fire at Sea - I Googled his work and found this:
Joseph_Mallord_William_Turner_012.jpg

It's more representational than your work, of course, but there's something similar in the tones, colours and feel.

I did click on the Sargent link and didn't really get the connection, but it may be me and my lack of technical expertise - I did take Fine Art classes at uni so that's my only defence ha ha

Thanks! Yes it is quite reminiscent. I love Turner.

I did click on the Sargent link and didn't really get the connection, but it may be me and my lack of technical expertise - I did take Fine Art classes at uni so that's my only defence ha ha

It's just the type of brush I used on the software the painting itself is completely different.

Ah, I get it - strangely enough I was shopping this afternoon for watercolour brushes for a friend, and it had to be a particular type of brush - so brush strokes are important :)

Yes for sure. Sadly digital can't yet give that level of precision but it is a lot cheaper!

once you have bought the equipment, and Corel Painter which seems like spending more than a box of good quality watercolours and heaps of paper.

lol

Obviously you haven't bought artists watercolours or paper recently. Yes you can buy the crappy kids stuff but your work will look like it.

I assume you are joking!

I have the highest quality water colours, (principally Windsor and Newton Artist quality Watercolours, and Schminke and La Aquarelle by Sennelier which are great too)

And tons of Arches Aquarelle Blocks, and they weren't cheap.
Fontanelle is good stuff and is a lot less expensive, still not cheap
I do just buy all the time, if I had done the same things with cryptos I would be rich in money, instead of pigments.
But Corel Painter is 700 euros. I recently considered buying it.
(Decided on Krita instead, open source.)
And a computer to run it on is at least that much.
Obviously could easily be a lot more too.

Hell, just a good graphics tablet by itself would set anyone up as a water colourist for months or more.

Nice collection.

Actually I forgot that watercolours tend to go a lot further than oil paints. Also I tend to really use thick paint (oil) or multiple thin layers (or I did when I used to use it).

That is not necessary for watercolour.

700 Euros for Corel Painter is excessive! It was only 250 pounds when I bought it and since then I just pay about 100 -150 for upgrades! In that case you could do a lot of painting for the price.

That said painting supplies in England are like many "physical" things a rip off. Last time I went to buy oil paints I ended up spending £300 including canvases. As for the tablet I had it anyway for Photoshop so I didn't really think of it as a cost but yes you are talking a few hundred pounds/euros for that.

Thing is once you have it, it will last a long time and you don't even really need to upgrade - I'm just one of these people that has to get the latest version.

those Titan Bizancios are very nice too, those tubes down the front.
And there are tubes of watercolour there that I have been using for fifteen years.
good quality watercolours are very dense and go a loooong way.
depending what you do with them of course

Now Golden Acrylic paint, now there's a competitor. I spent 350 euros the last time I bought some acrylic paints.

But I am having to try and work out how to replace my computer right now, and it's a lot more than that.

Later I agree that the way one can derive works from works in the digital realm makes it impossible to ignore, and believe me I don't.

anyhow, I am afraid I stand with my original point, it is far cheaper to start painting traditionally than digitally.
later the unit cost is much less, or even zero, but the same is true for me.
Even if I never shop for materials again, I won't have to stop painting in the time I have left on this planet.
(barring the case of a catastrophic loss of my house and studio, but that goes for the digital world, and with a hard drive failure or similar is far more likely.)

I agree with you @johnjgeddes. Especially the tan part looks very similar. What a beautiful painting WOW! I am really blow away by this. When we lived in Washington DC we went to the Smithsonian National Gallery of Art a lot. Thanks so much and have a wonderful day! FOLLOWING YOU IMMEDIATELY!!!

thank you for your response, @picswart, and am following back

You are welcome, and thanks for following me back. Are you a Whale on Steemit? You have a very high reputation.

you're welcome...No, not even a dolphin lol

Thanks for your honesty. Following you. What do you write I see you are a writer?

Nice work @thecryptofiend
It has a smokey sky look.

Look at this painter Bob Ross, very entertaining to watch, I am inspired by just watching him do hiis work.

I love Bob Ross! I used to watch him on cable TV when I was a kid. Such a lovely guy with such a gentle style. I think he is on Netflix now too. Must take a look when I have time.

Me and my brother watched him paint and finish his art within an hour on TV with commercials included I think from the late 90's when few of his shows reached our country.

Sadly I think died pretty young (by modern standards).

Yes, some type of cancer at the age of 52 learned. He could have livestreamed on YouTube if he lived some more years,
But his works are now immortalized in the Internet. It's the magic what technology can do.

Yes it is sad but he has a kind of immortality now.

Looks good, feels like an sandstorm coming right at you and is almost near you!

Yes seems to be a common impression!

It does have this chaotic feel to it! Almost looks like a huge sandstorm :D

Yes I can see it! Thank you!

i agree to that, it looks like a huge sandstorm in a hot day!

Awesome!!! another good one from you, keep it up. Upped.
I like the mixture of colors, you are very talented indeed.
I referenced you on my latest post: Steemit: Poor People killer Or A Strategic Solution For All ?
feel free to check it out. More success to you, and keep steeming.

I agree, have a wonderful day!

Hey can I ask you a personal favour?

Who do you know right now that is a Whale on Steemit?

The owners of steemit

Great can you refer me to them?

welcome, always

It is said that “Chaos is Order Reorganizing!”. Your painting fits perfectly into this.

Another great Painter Artwork - youre really good with this software and creating stunnig Pics looks like real paintings - cool man :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62132.42
ETH 3416.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51