You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Stains of Chaos No. 1 - Digital Abstract Painting

in #art7 years ago

Nice collection.

Actually I forgot that watercolours tend to go a lot further than oil paints. Also I tend to really use thick paint (oil) or multiple thin layers (or I did when I used to use it).

That is not necessary for watercolour.

700 Euros for Corel Painter is excessive! It was only 250 pounds when I bought it and since then I just pay about 100 -150 for upgrades! In that case you could do a lot of painting for the price.

That said painting supplies in England are like many "physical" things a rip off. Last time I went to buy oil paints I ended up spending £300 including canvases. As for the tablet I had it anyway for Photoshop so I didn't really think of it as a cost but yes you are talking a few hundred pounds/euros for that.

Thing is once you have it, it will last a long time and you don't even really need to upgrade - I'm just one of these people that has to get the latest version.

Sort:  

yes, if you already have the equipment, and the software, then it's good value.
I was shocked at the price of painter, and immediately started looking what the open source options were, and there are several that seemed good, but Krita wins hands down.
Unfortunately for me, I had an incident with my previous graphics tablet, in that I accidentally pushed the pen off the table and didn't realise, and one of the dogs chewed it up.
It was a fairly crappy Trust one anyway, but the UGEE that I have replaced it with is only half a man, or something.
Won't work with pressure in the gimp, until maybe the gimp 3.0 and in Krita I have had a hard time getting it to not be glitchy.
Apparently works fine in Ps and Painter, although I have my doubts.
(I don't use those programs anymore since I decided to stop using pirated wares, and there's no way I can buy them, or even rent the adobe creative cloud. 70 euros a month is just so ludicrous for me. That's half my dog food bill right there.)

In the end I am using it without pressure sensitivity and not really painting anything.
I have been making vector drawings in Inkscape and theoretically I still paint in watercolours, although as I noted somewhere else, I am not working since steemit came along.

thanks for replying

You can pay less for individual apps on Creative Cloud. I think it is (or was) 10 euros per app.

I am convinced by the open source world these days.

I love the idea and I love the generous communities based around them.
I doubt I'll go back

Yes it has certainly revolutionised so many fields.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61016.36
ETH 3388.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56