Master paintings, studied, copied, improved

in #art5 years ago

As an artist, part of my job is to go to museums and other places that art hangs around in, and steal it. "Every artist is a cannibal; every poet is a thief," Bono tells us. And it's absolutely true. Lichtenstein is the most prominent of the plagerizers; but all of us do it. We just conceal it better. Last month I went to the Milwaukee Art Museum and lifted some ideas. Below are the results.

I used an inktense pencil in the museum, and back at my studio applied ink and watercolor.

IMG_20181223_104918098.jpg

This copy is of a Philip Guston, my favourite Guston in existence, actually, and it just happens to hang in my local museum.

IMG_20181223_104906835.jpg

I don't know the painter of this piece. I chose to copy it because the heads were so similar and all in a line. It looked like you could put a level on their hairdos and keep the bubble in the center.

IMG_20190108_151324333.jpg

This piece is a mythological scene, a goddess of some sort, drawn across the sea in a clamshell pulled by dolphins. This is only a detail.

IMG_20181206_155806518.jpg

Here's the only image of the source material that I saved. I love that line of hairdo!

Tell me what you think.

Let me know if you have any requests for my next improvement of the art history canon.

For further examples of my work visit my lavish website.

Sort:  

Dear Artist @the.skrauss ! Do you know the FineArtNow Project ? The Idea of this blog is to bring creative people and art enthusiasts together and to increase the reach of Steemit - Artists ! Become our Friend ! See you soon !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97