Med Student in an Art Gallery - Kusama at GOMA

in #art7 years ago (edited)

G'day team,

Anyone who knows me knows I'm not particularly artistically inclined. In fact, I'm quite the opposite, usually sitting quite comfortably in my trench of science and medicine and allowing the shells of culture and art to rain down around me... But today I begrudgingly allowed myself to be dragged kicking and screaming along to Brisbane's Gallery of Modern Art for an exhibition by Japanese artist YAYOI KUSAMA and I must say I had a bloody amazing time!

face3.jpg
Me, having a bloody amazing time

The Exhibition

This particular installation is essentially a biography of Yayoi Kusama's work, through her art. It begins at her simpler and more reserved (but still not traditionally Japanese) works and progresses through her time in America and her return to Japan.

Now I'm hardly qualified to give you an adjective packed run-by-run commentary of all the pieces of art I saw today, but I'd like to share some of my favorite pieces, and some of the fun I had while at the gallery!

Mirrors!

20180108_023353068_iOS.jpg
Yayoi Kusama was one of the first artists to employ the magic of mirrors in her work, when they were revived in the mid-1990s she'd already been using them for decades. These installations allowed a viewer to place their head in a small circle and witness an eternity or flashing, buzzing and shimmering lights! Utterly stunning

Wierd Tree Things

20180108_021525434_iOS.jpg
*These were cool! I'd say they're pretty thematic given Christmas has just past and I know I'd prefer to have one of these in my lounge next year... just look at all that colour!

Dots!

20180108_022838463_iOS.jpg
20180108_020803942_iOS.jpg
Polka dots have been a common theme in Yayoi Kusama's work since she was much much MUCH younger! This installation had no fewer than three rooms, each with a unique tots-related theme. Look the others up online!

This Thing

20180108_020823933_iOS.jpg
I have no idea what it is, but it's a little bit alien and a little bit creepy and I a little bit love it!

Thanks team

I hope you all had as much fun reading this as I had walking around and looking at all the colors!
-tfc
face.jpg


My Recent Posts
Hi, I'm Tom! (My life of medicine, science and fantasy)
Hydatidiform Mole – When Pregnancy Goes Wrong
Tags - Top 20 Profitable, Engaging and Popular tags
New Years Resolutions - How to set goals, and achieve them

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41