Daffodil Colobus Monkey Skull: Watercolor and Ink drawing step by step

in #art7 years ago

yellowskulltop.jpg
I tend to work rather small, I think an obsession with tiny minute details is the cause and this piece is no exception at only 3x3 inches square. It was partially an experiment in trying out the finest tipped pen I've ever used. A Rotring Isograph drafting pen with a tip size of .10.
yellowskull1.jpg
I started out with taping off the edges and coloring the entire piece with Dr. PH Martins concentrated watercolors Daffodil. After it dried I set about drawing the skull from a reference photo in red pencil(I always seem to forget to take a photo after this step as I'm too excited to get to the painting)
I then used various reds and oranges from Dr. PH Martins concentrated watercolors to paint in the rough colors of the skull.
yellowskull2.jpg
Once dry I added in the circle and began to crosshatch in the details with the Isograph pen.
yellowskull3.jpg
More crosshatching to bring out the shapes and depths. You can really see how tiny the tip of the pen is as well.

yellowskullmain.jpg
Finally using a brush and Dr. PH Martins Bleed Proof White I painted in the highlights and stars.

yellowskullhand.jpg

The finished piece in a tiny frame I found at a thrift store.

Some of my other step by step posts.
Cosmic Maw: Stippled pen drawing step by step
Psychedelic Melty Space Face: Digital coloring step by step
Sally Dog: Oil painting step by step

Sort:  

Dear Artist !
FineArtNow is a new place featuring artists on Steemit .
Step 1 : Follow ❗️ our blog for support .
Step 2 : Tag ❗️ your post : fineartnow , as one of your 5 Tags .
Step 3 : for resteem take a look at our latest posts : To Honor Old Masters , if you like them don't forget to show this ;)❗️
We daily upvote, resteem and follow creative people. See you soon !

Very cool to see your process.. I could never do that.

Thanks! Never know until you try. I highly recommend the book "the artists way" for anyone who loves art but feels like they cant make art.

This is brilliant, person! That .01 mm pen sounds fascinating... I want!

Thanks! Isograph and Rapidograph pens are awesome but require a lot of annoying cleaning and upkeep, well worth it though for those teeeeny tiny lines. :)

I RESTEEMED this, by the way! Also, I wanted to show you my only video of myself doing step-by-step... My finest tips are .05...

If putting the video link is bad, just tell me and I will delete it... I don't want to spam anyone...

It looks sort of Moebius-ish! Well done!

Thanks so much! That's a massive compliment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55