How to paint colorful succulents

in #art5 years ago

shop6.jpg

Hello artlovers,

the golden succulents painting was the perfect painting for me to practise light and shadow. Normally I don't paint flowers that much, because I am never satisfied with the outcome. They just don't look as good on canvas as in reality. But the photo I saw of this colorful succulents stunned me. I wanted to paint them and I did!

The golden frame is also a perfect fit for this painting. I bought the frame in white and then used golden spray paint to change the color of the frame!

Here are my progress steps:

1 - First I put some colors randomly on the canvas board with fluid acrylics and acrylic inks. Then I painted the outlines of the flowers with a white marker and painted a dark background for the flowers.

IMG_2989.JPG

2 - Then I put some more colors on the flowers and basically reinforced the colors that were already there. I put a little bit more magenta in the flowers here and there. I painted the background black and made some sprinkles with white and gold color.

Next I added shadows on the flowers.

IMG_2990.JPG

3 - Then I painted the outline of the flower petals again with very bright yellow color and added light reflections with white color.

IMG_2991.JPG

4 - I wanted to have a more interesting background so I added gold leaf to it. I put some translucent gel on it and the the gold leaf on top.

IMG_2992.JPG

5 - After the gel was dry, I removed the gold leaf and then I added a little bit more gold color to the background and finally also on the petals.

IMG_2994.JPG

6 - Here are some detail photos of the gold on the petals:

detail2.JPG

detail3.JPG

Hope you enjoyed my little blog post about how I painted the colorful succulents.
Leave a comment, if you think, this was helpful! :-)

Until next time!

Sandy G.

Sort:  

Congratulations @terra.somnia.art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Amazing piece with great step by step process to tell us how you made it.

Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, hope you can create your own flower pieces now! :-)

Very beautiful, @terra.somnia.art ! The way you applied the shimmer really brings out such liveliness to this painting ! Absolutely gorgeous <3

Thank you for your kind words!

That is really WOW effect seeing your flowers, they are just shining like the light. Beautifully chosen colors and like the background. Nice work!

Thank you! Great to hear you like it!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87