Stunning Sandcastle artists battle it out! (Artists from around the world )

in #art7 years ago (edited)

There is an amazing Sandcastle competition going on in treasure Island Florida in November.
Sanding Ovations 2017 is in its ninth year and draws tons of traffic to this wonderful beach.

source-http://www.mytreasureisland.com/visitors/sanding_ovations_2014.php

This was a four-day competition and had 10 master sculpture artists from around the world including contestants from Europe, North America and Asia. These works of art were created just using sand and water to hold them together.
I am amazed that these are still standing even after a few storms have past through.

Here's a picture of my favorite created by Andrius Petkus, Vilnius, Lithuania.

IMG_20171119_094144.jpg

IMG_20171119_094214.jpg

This work of art was created by Abe Waterman, Prince Edward Island, Canada

IMG_20171119_093239.jpg

And here we have Edith van de Wetering, Netherlands

IMG_20171119_093006.jpg

Next up is another one of my favorites by Helena Bangert, Netherlands

IMG_20171119_094403.jpg

And my hats off to first place- Jobi Bouchard, Montreal, Canada

IMG_20171119_093605.jpg

The sculpture received a lot of attention by Ilya Filmonstev, Moscow, Russia- 3rd place

IMG_20171119_093113.jpg

This one had more to it , On the other side was a man! By Sue McGrew, Tacoma, Washington

This one was created by Fergus Mulvaney, Dublin, Ireland

IMG_20171119_093640.jpg

There were two more contestants that I missed due to low batteries, You deserve a big shout out!

Kirk Rademaker, Santa Cruz, California
Jooheng Tan, Singapore

I hope you enjoyed all my pictures and information on this event and thank you all for stopping by!

Sort:  

They're all incredible it's hard to pick a favourite but I really like the geometric one at the bottom by Fergus from Ireland :-)

Yes it was very hard to pick. they were all so amazing!

That is so awesome! I am putting that on my to do list for next year on my travels! Thanks for posting this. :)

Thank's man,I see you post in steemsilvergold, following you!

awesome artist they are, your favourite is my favourite too @tbnfl4sun, something related to the prayer, it tells a lot of story! Amazing! :)

Thank's,That one makes me feal good for some reason!

Totally rad! Thanks for sharing this. I had no clue such awesomeness could be made with sand!

Thank's I was amazed how well they do that,I cant wait till next year!

Yeah I was completely blown away!

nice post.

my old boss does this, and he said he was in Florida I wonder why his name wasnt in there, hes pretty damn good

Maybe I missed him, was he one of the event organizers possibly?
http://www.mytreasureisland.com/visitors/sanding_ovations_sculptors.php

oh maybe? i dont care enuf to look and maybe he didnt enter this year i actually have no idea
sorry

Wow, the amount of talent here is crazy. Plus the nihilistic reality of rain washing their work away... sheesh!

They are so talented,you have a good eye for talent and thank for the comment!

very beautiful photography!

Thank's for the upvote!

I love those lithuanian hands, they remind me of the 'wai' greeting in Thailand, fantastic work, upvoted and following.

Thanks for your reply, those hands were very nice to see in person. Next year am going to meet the artists and watch them in action. I just went and looked you have some nice pictures of Thailand!

Thanks, I have lived here for a while now and am always exploring new places and I'm now able to share my adventures and articles on Steemit.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks STAX!

That looks amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34