You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Prima Ballerina" - large oil painting with black and white color only

in #art7 years ago

This technique is interesting and very detailed, given that individual bush strokes add up to the final tones - you are very correct in saying a mixture wouldn't achieve the same effect.

The control and patience needed is impressive. I hesitate to ask how long this took, but I must satisfy my curiosity.

Thank you for sharing this, I'm always awed by your technical and artistic skill.

Sort:  

Seems tedious to most people, but I like it. I prefer drawing over painting, so even when I paint, I sort of draw. Plus this approach results in a sort of luminosity, which can't be achieved in any other way (I know of)

Your question is quite alright, and people often ask me, how long it takes to create my paintings. In short: long 🤡

No, seriously... I think this one was about 10 weeks. Working on it almost every day during that time. I'm a little faster now.

Thank you as always, for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57