Art Attack! #64: Linktober 2020 Day 25 - Ruins

in #art3 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

We're still continuing on with my Linktober series, this time with Day 25 - Ruins! If you're unfamiliar with this challenge Linktober is a spinoff of the monthly art challenge, Inktober, where there's a daily prompt and you're supposed to do an ink drawing everyday based on the prompt!

image.png

Source: Linktober Tumblr

I actually started this challenge a little late, unfortunately, but I started from day 20 and tried my best to keep up the streak to the end of the month. So far so good, but it was definitely a challenge doing a piece a day since I draw pretty slowly, but I tried my best!

Anyway, for Ruins it seemed like a pretty easy prompt especially for Zelda since there are ruins pretty much anywhere you look in Hyrule. But the first place I thought of was this place called Blathery Plain in Breath of the Wild!

image.png

Source: Zelda Dungeon

This is a pretty significant place in-game because it's where you get the very last memory called Zelda's Awakening! And it's also a crucial moment in the lore of BotW as you finally find out what happened to Link and why he was in hibernation at the start of the game.

But anyway, with all these decayed ruin guards around, it seemed like a perfect place for this prompt, so I went to sketching! I've actually seen a couple of BotW themed travel posters like these:

image.png

Source: Displate

And I thought it'd be cool to do something similar! So here's my sketch:

image.png

And after outlining the key parts:

image.png

For this to look like the travel poster, I wanted to try and colour in everything since the prompt was ruins. So I wanted to try and use oil pastels to colour it in since colour pencils are a no-no for me.

image.png

So I kinda screwed up. I shouldn't have coloured the ruin guards black. That's my bad. I thought blending the black would help lighten it but yea it just turned out awful and unrecognisable.

image.png

I hated how it looked so I decided to redo and take a different approach. So I did another sketch and outline:

image.png

This time, I decided to keep it simple and just for my black and white minimalist style. This way, the details on the ruin guards could be seen and I could add more details to the cliffs and mountains too!

image.png

But I still wanted to colour in the ruin guards, so I just shaded them grey and after erasing all the sketch lines, I got this!

image.png

In my opinion, this looked so much better! If I could use paint on this paper, I would've definitely used watercolours but I think this fits in with Linktober all the more! And it was cool finally getting to use my black and white minimalist style for one of these pieces, which was basically the whole reason I wanted to try Inktober in the first place!

Even though this Linktober was a challenge I definitely enjoyed trying to create different pieces for all the prompts! And I hope you're enjoying my behind the scenes of these!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #63: Linktober 2020 Day 24 - Musical Instrument! 🎻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81