Art Attack #151: Pretty and Scary Yor Forger! 😈

in #artlast year

image.png

Hey Steemit!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

If you missed the last couple of posts, I started a new series where I use this template to draw different characters based on suggestions from my viewers on Twitch!

image.png

I found this template on Facebook and had the idea to draw different characters for a potential NFT series in the future, but then the whole NFT thing kinda tanked. But I thought it was still an interesting drawing exercise to do and I wanted to reward my loyal viewers. So instead of drawing characters I already know I thought asking chat would be cool since it would expose me to different characters too!

Anyway, this request was by one of my mods, who goes my Mel_on_Cake1 on Twitch! She's nice to everyone and super sweet and the most wholesome person in my chat so I was more than happy to fulfill her request! The character she wanted me to draw was Yor Forger from SPYxFAMILY!

image.png

Source: anidb.net

I'm sure everyone is familiar with Yor by now; I've seen so much SPYxFAMILY merchandise and cosplays especially at Anime Festival Asia (AFA) when we popped by last year. At least this was someone I'm actually familiar with since I've seen SPYxFAMILY and I thought it was a good and cute lighthearted anime. Not as intense as some others I've seen like Attack on Titan but to me that's a good thing.

I know Yor has a few different outfits she wears in the anime, but I thought drawing her in her iconic assassin dress would be appropriate and definitely the most recognisable.

I did a rough sketch on stream, and while I used the template for her head I thought the body was a bit wide so I changed it a little bit to give her more of her figure.

image.png

And we get something like this! It wasn't as easy as I initially thought since I'm not very good at drawing boobs of any kind, but I tried my best to give her some shape.

image.png

As with all these NFT art pieces I only follow the template for the overall shape and position but I do cater the poses and facial expressions to the character that I'm drawing. I also do a custom background that suits them.

For Yor, I thought of her holding her spear/dagger-like weapon and smiling would be creepy and pretty but also cute? Kind of like one of my reference pics that I found. I thought that expression sort of matched her personality the best rather than a serious look, since she was also a little goofy even while on missions.

After outlining, we get this:

image.png

I thought the hair was okay but I realised she has a lot more accessories than I remember, so when I got to this stage it seemed kinda empty. But I thought drawing her accessories without black outlines would be better.

The colouring was pretty easy since she really only has 3 main colours. I didn't want to make it completely black though so I made it slightly grey instead and added some shadows and highlights.

image.png

It took a while to get her accessories done right, especially the roses but I found one that easy to trace and distorted it from there. I thought it came out pretty well and seemed to match. And I gave her weapon a shine to show how pointy and sharp it is of course.

image.png

For the background I didn't really have an idea other than making it blood red. But now I see that the inside of her dress is actually reddish with a pattern that I could've done. It seems to be geometric roses too which would've been cool if done in a subtle way. I wish I'd thought of that sooner. Oh well. I ended up using some textured brushes and spraypaints to get this:

image.png

I thought it still looked okay but maybe the rose pattern would've been cooler since this looks a little simple. I wasn't sure on what else to add at the time though. Overall a pretty simple piece but I think it turned out quite nicely! Mel liked it too so that's all that matters I guess!

Here's the 30 second timelapse:

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #150: Crafting a Cardboard Cat Cafe! 😺🏠

Sort:  

Hi @taco.cat.
Your blog is amazing with your posts on food, art, anime, travel, in short, what you love most.

It is a pity that your posts don't get the visibility they deserve on Steemit.

Unfortunately, on such a large blogging platform, users are at risk of not getting the desired results.

Have you ever thought of entering some competitions organised by the various communities?
This is a great way to gain more visibility and make yourself known on the platform.

If you want, you can have a look at Contest Alerts: Active Contest List and search for the contest that suits you.

Good luck with your blog and do not hesitate to contact me for any information.

aw thanks so much! I'll go check that out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.28
ETH 2333.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36