Art Attack #129: Furry Bois Chillin' in the Mountains 🐶🦊 [Part 2]

in #art2 years ago

image.png

Hey Steemit!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

We're continuing on from last week's post where I started sharing about an art request that was redeemed by one of my mods on Twitch - Nightsy! As a Twitch affiliate we get benefits like channel redemptions that chat can use their channel points on to affect the stream and such. And as an artist, I thought I'd reward my loyal viewers with free artwork at 150K channel points! Before I knew it I was absolutely flooded with requests; who knew so many of them had that much!

image.png

Anyway, my mod Nightsy requested that I draw his OC with Razor and Gorou (characters from Genshin Impact, which I frequently play on stream). Since they're all wolfey bois it fits, and I even added in Taroumaru, who is a Shiba from the game too! If you're curious, this is what they all look like in-game:

image.png

So this was where we left off last time, when I finished the sketch and the lineart, so it's time for the fun part - colouring!

image.png

Or rather, I was going to start colouring when I realised that I missed out on quite a few details on the Genshin characters. I love the character designs, but it's always such a pain when I get asked to draw them since they're so ridiculously detailed!

Anyway, I added in the details I missed, like Taroumaru's towel headband, Razors long hair and accessories and it looked a lot better! Now we're ready to colour!

image.png

I started with Taroumaru first, since he's the easiest (and the cutest!). He kinda reminds me of a mascot from a shabu-shabu restaurant here in Singapore actually.

Then I worked on colouring Razor, and he has so many details on this interesting outfit; from his poncho-like top to his belt and arm bracers. I tried to add some shading here and there to give him more depth as well.

image.png

Gorou was pretty fun to colour as well, although he definitely had more details than Razor for sure. His armour is pretty intricate but I loved the colour scheme and tried to emulate it the best I could. I also added in shadings and some highlights to give the armour more dimension and I think it looked pretty good!

image.png

The easiest one to colour was definitely Nightsy himself since he only has a few colours. I also added in some shadings. I realised I drew his eyes looking downwards by default since that's how he drew it, but it could be him looking at Taroumaru too!

image.png

We were almost done with it but I wanted to include a background too, since the idea for this piece was that the three of them were taking a photo together at some place. Nightsy told me his favourite place in Teyvat (the world of Genshin) was Dragonspine - the tallest and coldest mountain there. And I happened to find this background that I thought looked so cool and is obviously a Zelda reference but adapted to Genshin Impact, with Jean in the middle!

image.png

And this was what I ended up with! I changed the colours of the mountain somewhat since I wanted the bois to stand out so I went with a darker palette, but not too dark that Nightsy would get lost in it. It was hard to find a balance since Nightsy is so dark but the Genshin characters are so bright. I think it worked out okay though!

image.png

This piece definitely took a long time, but Nightsy has been a big help on stream and he has even done a couple of art pieces for me too, so I was more than happy to indulge his request and make it the best I could! Here's the full timelapse, and by the time you can probably tell it took me a long time to do this.

But I hope you enjoyed this post and this art piece! I was very pleased with it and tbh relieved when I finally finished it. I'm glad Nightsy loved it too! If you ever wanna hang out with us I'm live almost everyday on Twitch, either playing games or doing art!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #128: The Good Bois from Genshin Impact! 🐶🦊 [Part 1]/a>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43