"Octavean- The cost of power"

in #art7 years ago (edited)

"The Cost of power" was actually my first post in steemit. Back then I had no clue that steemit will help me so much. The last month was really hard for me. But in the end, I managed to stand up and thanks to steemit I helped my family to get on its feet... Thru art. I am so happy that i can do that!
When I finished the drawing on paper I asked my teacher how to do this better, he told me to digitalize it. But I had no idea how I this would look in the real world, or how could I do that technically back then.

octavean thumbnail.jpg

The Cost of power
revisited

An ancient Archmage. Once a teacher, and a student. He desired one thing. To know and to be capable. How could he reach this? And how he could maintain that power?
He exalted himself, out of the world, out of his own mind he was seeking the patterns of the chaos and the chaos of the order. He witnessed how a star dies and how a new one is born. How a comet destroys a planet and the dust of it forms a new life on another one. How planets are formed and how supernovas consume everything around them.
He understood one thing. The mind is the one that gives meaning to everything. Humans try to give meaning to everything otherwise they could not survive. This is the one thing that most humans can't live without. Meaning, and emotion!
Octavean collected the consciousnesses of many, every emotion he felt. Every desire and every thought. If one could paint his mind, it would be a simple chaos, similar to the vast universe that we live in. Every consciousness is a galaxy and in the middle of this storm you could see an empty pitch black void that could consumed everything in his desire for more.
But the shell... The shell that is holding this is fragile. One can see the cracks in it. The torture in his eyes and the pain captured in the cage of his mind.
Nobody can save you from what you desire

Octavean full image.jpg


Details

octavean detail 1.jpg
Detail 1

octavean detail 2.jpg
Detail 2


Original Concept

the first banshee.jpg
Tools used: Photoshop cc2018 and Wacom Intuos pen small; For the traditional sketch Red ink ballpoint pen and for better reading I converted it to grayscale in photoshop.

Tip to artists- Take your chances! Don't be afraid, you've got nothing to lose!

If you like my art, please follow me on:
facebook; artstation; deviantart; behance

Sort:  

Wow @svdsdragunov, great artwork! Both your sketching and 3D abilities are outstanding. I can't believe you've been here since half way through 2017 and haven't got a much larger following. Join our group, Steem Artists and we'll help you change that!

Hello there! Thanks you for the kind words! I accept the invitation. I accept!
Btw it's all 2D :P

this is awesome, I love the concept! though to be honest I prefer the original sketch to the digital rendition. both are great, I'm just a bit of a traditionalist ;) following to see more of your work in the future!

Thank you!
That's fine, that's why I posted them both.
The one is rougher with more character. The digital revisit is more refined and smooth and i tried to add more features to it.
I wish I had pictures or even video of the process when I was drawing the sketch. Going to fix that for the future.
Cheers!

I've been trying to get better about taking photos of the process when I work on art projects, but its so easy to get caught up in the moment and forget!

2 solutions to that problem. One better than the other. The first is to stream your work, the other is to stream and record your work. and after that to do edit the record to a time-lapse video. Cause it's more time efficient for the viewers to see the whole process in 3 mins than in 18 hours live stream broadcasting.

I think everyone has said it already but WOW. I love your art and your art style. Keep it coming man, following and looking forward to more greatness

Thanks for the support dude! As soon as possible I will post the next one!
Cheers!

This is soooo crazy and good! Love it!

Thank you, Moon! I appreciate it!

This is great! Love it.

Thanks, i try to show my best :D

That's dope and dark and broody and moody and evil, I Love it!

Thanks! So, I managed to pull it of! Great to see that you like it!
Cheers!

nice art,,,i like it,,,good to see,@svsdragunov

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Beautyfull work off art... crazy what you can do with a computer these days...

IMG_5312.PNG

I will follow you!

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED

Oh yeah and that's nothing :D you can do a lot more :D
Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59185.23
ETH 2319.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46