When I Was An Actor Once - The Incredibly Fascinating Art Of Assuming Different Roles

in #art6 years ago
What you aim for as an actor, is to be able to play a range of different roles. - Ruth Wilson

I can totally relate, Ruth.

A couple of years back I did an acting workshop which turned out to be one of the most challenging experiences in my life.

After some initial training sessions where we learned the basics of role playing, the course instructor started to assign the roles every participant had to assume and which we were supposed to perform at a theatre a couple of weeks later. She came over to me and said:

I want you to be a personality that is far away from your own. You will be a mad old lady, that finds herself abandoned at home, hallucinating and going crazy, talking in monologue about the man that came to violate her.

You want me to do what?

That monolugue was definitely one of the most challenging things I've ever done in my life!

@surfermarly posing for a photographer at the beach - Playing different roles broadens the horizon :-)

Start acting and get lost: the day I became an old, hallucinating lady

Since I did that acting course a couple of years ago, I generally hold actors in high esteem.

When we see these great talents on the screen everything seems to be so easy and natural. But that's actually where the secret of role playing lies. There is a long path - invisible for the audience - between wanting to assume a certain role and effectively representing it.

What I learned back then was that I had to get lost in the role to really assume it.

The script was quite tough for being my very first role. There was just this old lady - me - on stage. I had no sparring partner and no item where to hang on. Everything I had was the insanity of that person.

According to the script that lady found herself in the living room, destroyed, troubled, full of fear and anxiety since she believed that someone had just entered her house and violated her. According to the script nobody - not even herself - knew if that really happened or if she was just hallucinating.

Oh man, what a task!

During the training sessions we had once a week there were between fifteen and twenty people in the room. While I was on stage - the old lady in her nightdress (yes, they even made me wear a nightdress!) - the instructor and the other actors watched silently.

Do you know how difficult it is to figuratively come clean while a group of people is examining every single move you excecute, every single word you say and every single breath you take? Do you know how embarrassing it can be?

Yes, I really have full respect for every actor on this planet!

The instructor wanted me to cry in the middle of the monologue. First I failed since I only focussed on the need to cry. Then I started to feel real compassion for the character and her situation - until I teared up magically.

There is a bridge between us and every existing character.

We don't need to be evil by ourselves to be able to interpret an evil person.

Probably the fact that my empathy is quite developed helped me to quickly get into the role. Also, I don't judge people by their way of being. Everybody has their history, their background, their story.

Even the old lady had her history... the time before she went mad.

The course instructor felt that. She knew that I was a quite correct and well-organized young lady, in the middle of her career, not wanting to lose my way. The role of the uncontrolled, freaking out monster was predestinated for me.

She wanted me to step over the edge and exceed my limits.

And so I did.

It demanded a great deal from me to forget about my attitude and play someone completely different. But after a while I became even attached to the character. That little monster started to fascinate me.

If I could make one single wish? Oh yeah, I'd love to become an actor in my next life.

Stepping over the edge is one of my favourite hobbies, so I'd definitely enjoy playing different roles and discovering more of my darker sides :-)

Don't we all have that one dream that's slumbering inside ourselves?

Which one is yours, steemians?

Marly -

Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Quotes found on pinterest.com and quotesnpictures.com.

Sort:  

We just finished watching Orphan Black last night. There's a show that makes you think a lot about acting! The lead plays about a dozen different clones, but each has a unique background and completely different personality. Somehow you totally forget that you're watching the same actress in all these roles.

It sounds like you've discovered a few different personas of your own already. Why not add actress to the list?

Orphan Black... I've never heard about that. Thanks for the hint!

It sounds like you've discovered a few different personas of your own already. Why not add actress to the list?

Oh, I really have everything I want in life. I wouldn't ever dare to ask for more. That acting thing is just one of these dreams that are slumbering there, but not really... I mean whenever I had a really strong dream in life I turned it into reality - such as living on an island an surfing every day for instance :-)

There's a difference between dreams and dreams. Mine is just a dream :-)

Life really is too short for everything we'd like to do, isn't it? I'll never understand people suffering from boredom.

This is a brilliant post... I wish I had seen it as soon as it came out. DARN!! well, I guess you catch some, you miss some, right?!? ;)

Awesome post!thanks for sharing a part of your life, I had no clue about. What a challenge it must have been on so many levels and, thus accompanied by its challenges, what growth it must have provided!?!

Namaste :)

I would have loved to see you do that! I bet you were fabulous. Especially with your heart.
I took an acting class in college and I also had to do a monologue- I did a scene from the movie Moonlight and Valentino- and guess what? I also had to cry in it! And it was exactly like you described, I put myself in her shoes and felt her pain and loss and sadness and I did cry!
I'm not sure if I'd want to be an actor in a next life though, it seems like they never get any privacy and the whole world wants to spread terrible rumors about them. I think I would have enjoyed it back in the forties and fifties though. But honestly, I love writing so much, I can't imagine wanting to do anything besides creating stories.

Oh, I wrote a post today about the buying votes issue- https://steemit.com/steemit/@dreemit/steemit-is-becoming-a-welfare-state-addressing-the-heart-of-the-issue-including-an-original-song-by-my-amazing-brother-that

plus it has a song from my brother in it :)

It always suprises me how much parralels we have in our lives :-)
You are absolutely right, nowadays it must be quite stressful being an actor. Writing is much more relaxed.

Awesome that you did another article about vote buying!! I will read it right now while I listen to your brother's song, having my first coffee in the morning - baaaaam! :-)

Have a wonderful day my friend!

Empathy. Not all of us have that nor it's something easy to have at will...unless already inherent in people to be effective.
Now...kicking some shitty people would be nice of a role to have. Just once.

Haha, I love your attitude @immarojas - even more since I came to know you personally in Lisbon :-)
Sometimes we'd all love to assume such a role and clean up a bit don't you think :-)

Hope you're having a great day!

I said "once" but frequently doesn't sound so bad lolsss...maybe it will encourage us to clean and tidy up more, stress-reliever too.
Cheers Marly!

Nice! Where are you surfing these days?

you are already becoming a model on the beach there and a surfer and a charity manager. why wait for your next life, just add it to your diverse CV.
I remember chatting with you about the movies in Lanzarote, maybe they need extras from time to time...
I guess you have the energy to do all these things and just take on more and more....
Just one more challenge to beat.

Haha, oh I think I have enough challenges in my life right now... That would definitely be too much :-)
But I like having steemit as my daily stage :-)

Ohh I love this! I never thought about what it's like to be an actor. I like how you point out it's not trying to be someone else, it's learning how to relate. Beautiful ❤

Thank you, sweetie!!!
It's been a really exciting experience :-) However, I'm not sure if it might lost some of the magic if you had to make a living by acting... Trying it once was totally thrilling though!

hehehe! :) first step... must remember the lines.... LOL

Dear @surfermarly, very interesting and lovely article you shared, i always love and like to visit your posts. according to my opinion you are multi talented personality, off course you do acting and be a perfect actor, you should try it. best wishes for you.

Thanks for the compliment! :-) Maybe I'll give it a try in my next life. Now I'm really too old, haha

i not think so about you. you really look fit

Haha, thanks. I was rather talking about starting a new career.

my best wishes for you

Great post. Many actors practise so hard and they are so good that we forget that they are actually playing the role and some cry over some scene although it is just a movie.

Yes, these are the best, no doubt about that.
Thanks for your compliment! I'm happy you enjoyed the read :)

U did not tear up magically, it was bestow to you as you have a natural acting talent deep buried inside you, that was indeed a very very difficult task to perform and you did splendidly well, i would say...

Spread your wings and people would love your natural acting talent, no need next life, life this moment to the fullest, turn to be an actor soon, God Bless..

Haha, thanks for your overwhelming encouragement!
When I said that I have this dream slumbering inside myself then I didn't mean that I'm dying to do it. I would have to leave my little island and fight for something big again, and to be honest this price is too high. I'm happiest where I am, I've got all I want for life.

Also: steemit is my stage now :-) I'm really not asking for more...

Well said, i completely agree on you on that... glad you are enjoying it.. God bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98