You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Line + form, Drawing in Clay

in #art6 years ago

Such a simple but effective design. Just took pictures of my own quince today, so recognised the leaf immediately. "Drawing" in clay makes for a gorgeous effect right inbetween 2 and 3D. Is it relief, is it depth? As you say the colour adds to both effects, but above all the forms are tactile, leading to a different (more physical) interaction than with say design on fabric or painted. This way the earthiness of clay is accentuated, while it is also lifted into the realm of weightless colour.

Your work is inspiring me to consider taking pottery lessons. Last time I sat at a wheel was 43 years ago! More recently, 12 yrs ago, modeled little things together with my son when he was young; but your work reminded me of how much more you can do with this material and how meditative it can be. Have you worked in porcelaine at all? (Recently studied Edmund de Waal.) Seems to be tricky stuff.

Sort:  

Hello @sukhasanasister and thanks for your comment. Clearly you really understand drawing in clay and in fact I think you may have explained it much better than I can!! It really made me smile to read your comment.

Much of my work has relief in it, like the Awakening Garden and much is in porcelain. The dog is porcelain and any work that will go outside. I also like throwing with porcelain and yes it is tricky but not as much as people say. It's just like any glaze or process - once you try it out and gain some experience with how it works/behaves then the handling becomes intuitive.

I really like Edmund de Waal's work...very worth studying!
Best wishes with diving back in to pottery....let me know if I can offer help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65