Steem Monster Art Contest Submission - The Goblin SorcerersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Here's a little doodle tonight for #steemmonster's art contest.

The Goblin Sorcerer

goblin.png

The Process

I decided to do this one as a vector in Affinity Designer. So first I grabbed a copy of the card as reference.

0BF6FBB9-0795-4068-A13B-53D72E3DA5CD.jpeg

Then a quick sketch of a more realistic looking face, with the key features of the Steem Monsters Goblin. It's fantastic that you can seamlessly switch back and forth from pixel drawing to vector drawing with Affinity Designer. Normally with any other vector program, I'd be doing a sketch in something else and then importing it into the vector program. Designer completely eliminates that requirement, which is awesome.

goblin sketch.png

From the sketch I inked in the line work.

goblin line.png

And then added in some colour with a few gradient fills as well.

goblin color.png

And then some shadows and highlights to give it some depth.

goblin.png

The shadows and highlights are also vector paths with some some blur added to them to give them more of an airbrush type feel.

Since I started this I actually ended up buying a bunch more card packs today. It's pretty damn addictive to keep buying them once you get a few good cards. I picked up another legendary card today so maybe I'll have to draw that one next. Plus the announcement and videos about the gameplay sort of built up the hype for me a bunch more.

Can't wait till the gameplay starts.

Sort:  

again WOW from me!
it's like magic...you can make a masterpiece from such an ordinary small picture..
and the last variant is awesome!
shadows do mean much, now I see it)

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

This is pretty cool man. I am not into the game but I dig your art. I love the way you capture the process that went into creating it.

I'm not into the steemmonsters but I appreciate the art.. 👍👍

Really good digital painting, I like your idea of creation of that face, you can use very well the digital tool, it is still quite difficult for me, but I also wish to improve it in future. Good luck for contest!

A doodle? It's great that you show all of us the step-by-step. I got as far as installing the program and charging my pencil. Maybe once the boat is out of the water I'll be more motivated. Keep sharing your stuff--it is motivating. I did not get any more new cards, but maybe I'll get a few more since I lucked in on a couple of legendary when I first got them. Not sure about he game aspect though--I'll have to see how that goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64