AT THE EDGE OF BLACKNESS

in #art6 years ago

video stills
2018

"At the edge of blackness" is a series of video stills that document the errors that occur on a magnetic tape that I double recorded. I used my Sonic Handycam DCR-TRV480E that has an analogue, A/V and a DV output - and can be connected directly to my computer. In that way, I am able to transfer the information from the video tape to my screen and upload some video stills here.

black-hole-1.jpg

The series "At the edge of blackness" manifests a moment of break down, the moment when a material thing starts to dissolve and change the meaning it carries. This process of transformation is time-bound. The magnetic tape loses its bodily functions, as if it is dying. The mysterious images that the tape releases shortly before its death speak to me on an almost spiritual level.

black-hole-2.jpg

Something completely new came into existence when I was trying to double use the tape. I am fascinated by the depth of these images. Often these unwanted failures appear to be the most exciting and artistic discoveries. I like to work with the element of coincidences, and I love to work with the unknown.

black-hole-3.jpg

I hope that this body of work speaks to you too. Leave your feedback, if you like to.
More video stills here: http://stellameris.com/2018/01/at-the-edge-of-blackness/

Sort:  

The result is very creepy, love it!

Hi @debart, thank you! I've just checked out your blog. Interesting stuff! I am happy to discover more artists here on steemit. What is your experience with steemit so far, from the perspective of an artist?

Well I just joined Steemit 2 days ago and to be host I am still trying to figure out the inner workings. I think artists will benefit from this platform in the long run when more people join. I mean all artists want is to get recognition for their work and on Steemit it sure looks like this will be the case.

Thank you @debart. Check out my new post about my thoughts on steemit for artists:
https://steemit.com/art/@stellameris/steemit-for-artists-pros-and-cons

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62758.86
ETH 3465.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49