ART EXPLOSION W. 43: MYTHOLOGY: Combined medium art "Witches Rebirth"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

Many of you know that I am since the beginning taking part in one or another art contest. There are sometimes the topics that can not leave me unemotional the one that I say:

I love that and I will create something

One of the host of Art contest is @juliakponsford, as part of @minnowsupport she is hosting ART EXPLOSION for very long time and I am really grateful for such long-term supportive project for artists.

So today's topic is MYTHOLOGY and this is what we as children grew with: Greek and Scandinavian Mythology, werewolves and vampire, witches and magician, there are all a part of our childhood adventurous development, it is as a trigger gives a sparkle and we later decided if it turns into a flame or will die off.

As to me, I thought about Witches, by the way, last few days I read an interesting article in "National Geographic" Dec. 2006 "Witch-hunt" usually when I am on holiday I am trying to catch up with interesting magazines, books and articles.

That article showed how we people do not like something that is unique, different like those women in the past due to their knowledge of herbal medicine and ability to heal been blamed easily as witches and were convicted to death.

So here it is my fascination:

"Witches Rebirth" by @Stef1

a1DSC01784.JPG

Witch is it a gift or is it a curse to protect the others or to protect themselves from other people. Can they be good or they must be only bad. It is a part of our history, our past. It is one of the interesting amazing topic nowadays and it will remain one of the mysterious but mandatory part of our future.

Once a year we love witches and all bad creatures and this is of course on Halloween. ( To tell the truth this is also my favourite holiday :)

My painting today is different, been known as seascape, children portrait and architecture lover it might be a real discovery to see that I actually love to draw or paint anything I like.

I hope you are not too scared by my painting, because it was not my intention but only to share my ART



Combined Medium: Acrylic painting with Soft pastel sticks and pencils :
"Witches Rebirth" by @Stef1

My step-by-step process and materials:

Acrylic textured paper 30.5x40.5 cm, paper weight 260 gsm, acrylic colors, palette knives, flat and round brushes. And Soft pastel sticks and pencils

First of all ordinary sketch:

DSC01778.JPG

First layer of acrylic colours, very rough and quick step do not pay attention to details, no matter if the head is not really correct shape or eyes to small or too large. Important rule is Rid off the white background. By the way, you see while on Holiday I forgot my palette so I used an old place mats.

DSC01780.JPG

Now a little bit of pastel sticks to dim a bit the bright colours

DSC01781.JPG

Now the details of face again I used pastel pencils as they are great for fine detailed work. I loved this part of work :)

DSC01782.JPG

And here it is Reborn Witch with all my mediums without them it would be not possible. My Signature and the date from yesterday

DSC01784.JPG

test1.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

Chilling. I like the composition and how you played with the reflection. The colors are spot-on too, but what really gets me are those eyes.

Thanks for you for your compliment!

Very scary! I am scared and can not decorate my room with this pictures, but I think that it is beautiful.

Witch is it a gift or is it a curse to protect the others or to protect themselves from other people.

I did not know much about the witches. I thought that it was just a monster.

Yes, there is really a lot that one can find about those unusual creatures as I am a Sci-Fi and Mystery fan I am very excited to learn more about such unique phenomenon :)

In fact, I was afraid to see it, but it was amazing😊🤗

Thank you for your comment, I know it was a bit scary for me too. That is why after I finished and it is dried up I put it away and I do not think I will hang it up anywhere. Although I believe there are someone who likes this type of art and would like to have this painting :)

Yes you are right you have to keep it in a place that is not visible, but if anyone wants to buy it better you invite 😊, but I really like your work

Очень страшный рисунок получился, даже для таких любителей черепов, как я.

Спасибо Алех, это для меня отличный комплимент!

Damn scary

That was my intention :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone for support!

Agree, have had the same feeling :)

OH this is really scary !!! But very well done!
Now i wonder how come you did not join my art contests... ? ;-)

Thank you for your compliment. In the past I was often by different contests but lately not really enough time and my artworks usually inspired by something I have seen, done or read. Like this time it was an interesting article about "Witch-hunt" and the same time I noticed that contest :)

i see. thank you for answering me! :-)
have a lovely day.jpg

@stef1 nice imagination bro. It seems like that there is reflection in water.

Thank you and this is really reflection in water :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09