🚀 Taking A Look Back At My Drawing Contest Entries

in #art6 years ago

Drawing-Throwback-SteemPowerPics.png


Drawing had been a big part of my life growing up, I liked to draw nature scenes, perspectives and portraits, as well as design concept airplanes that I often converted to blueprints and build R/C flying models from. As life went on I moved into computer programming and digital graphic design and my old pastimes of drawing faded.

Along came Steemit.

In my early days on Steemit I really enjoyed taking part in the many drawing and photography contests that were offered. They gave me a chance to dust off some old skills, interact with others on the platform and get to know a lot of great people. Before the whale wars, flag wars, and debates over upvote bots pulled everyone apart, this was a time of unity and community pulled me into Steemit.

I didn't know it at the time, but this was the beginning of my journey that would lead me to where I am now, helping to manage the various endeavours of the BeyondBitcoin communities.


Some of my drawing were for weekly contest where we were required to draw from a series of examples images. These were often very challenging as I had to push myself to focus and bring back skills I hadn't used in over 14 years or so.

Contest-Finals-Source.jpg
Contest-Finals.jpg


In time I decided to blend the different skill level images together into collages to make a more interesting final drawing even though that would disqualify me from the contest itself. To be honest, by this time I was just happy to know I hadn't lost my ability to draw.

DoctorWho-FanArt-1.jpg


One of my favorite drawing contests was for the "Whaleshares Court" where we were asked to draw the community leaders in a fantasy roll based on the nicknames they had been given in discord.

By this time I had also come to the realization that rendering in color pencils was very challenging and often smudged out the smaller details of my drawings like faces and hands. Frustrating, but something I had to push through.

WhalesharesCourt-SteemPowerPics.jpg

I created my rough sketch soon after the contest was announced, then went to work bringing each character to life.

His Royal Highness, Walrus the Wizard King @jphenderson, Patelincho the Red Queen @patelincho, The God Emperor Fuzzy @officialfuzzy, The High Royal Knight Sir Akrid @akrid, Baron Stargarden the Tripping @stargarden, Nico, Royal Guard of NSFW @nspart.

A the time I didn't know much about the community yet and had no idea how significant the symbolism of Fuzzy's coins dropping from his pouch would be. I later found out he created the first ever cross-chain tokens called WHALESHARE and BEYONDBIT that are used to fund projects, events, and reward people for helping to support others in the community to this day.

WhalesharesCourt-01.jpg


I definitely enjoyed my first months on Steemit taking part in all the awesome drawing and photography contests. It allowed me to grow with the community here and meet a lot of really great people... a path that lead me to Whaleshares and my role in the BeyondBitcoin and EOSTalk communities.

Mario-Luigi-SteempowerPics-01.jpg



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hey artiste hey!
This is great!
Hugs to you friend!

Thank you :-) Hugs back.

Hey, @steempowerpics !!! Nice Post.
I always Expecting such type of informative post on your blog.

Awesome!! You are extremely capable. this is the best place to exhibit your creativity.You are really capable and please continue posting. You're talented with the hued pencils. I. Just as of late got into hued pencils. I for the most part draw with pencil and ink.
-.jpg

Thank you, I appreciate the kind words. The cartoon drawings are easy in color, but it is definitely more challenging for me to do photo-realistic drawings with color pencils. In time I will get better at those too.

Really great drawings! Your skilled with the colored pencils. I. Just recently got into colored pencils. I usually draw with pencil and ink. Thanks for sharing, new follower here looking forward to more!!

Thank you so much. I think I have the solid shaded cartoon ones down, but I need a bit more practice on the photo-realistic colors drawings. I'm hoping to see more art challenges come around in the future to keep the art community going.

I think I'd be good at the cartoon ones too. I know and understand the bold lines and shading of cartoons, a lot easier sometimes then realistic images. I'd have to really take my time and learn how to draw realistically. I think I can but take as ton of practice. Thanks for your reply.

Im a fan of the whale share court image... All of them are good.. But the rawness and grittyness of that one catches me

I appreciate that, it was the most difficult one of all the contest drawings I created.

You can tell.... Keep up with that detail !

dang, I really like the Mario and Luigi one actually, it's simple and clean - thanks for sharing

Thank you :-) I'm happy you like my drawings.

This is just pure talent and creativity. Just love the pencil art

Thank you so much. :-)

Wow! You are very talented. this is the best place to showcase your creativity. I do hope that you get recognized for your talent. You are truly talented and please keep posting. I love them. Awesome!

You are so talented! Cool!

Ur drawings are really nice.... Keep it up

Great drawings! It's awesome to see your awesome talented!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46