SteemitArt Invites #1: Rafael Mantesso and Jimmy Choo

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Our first "guest" is already famous enough. Allow me to introduce: Rafael Mantesso (photographer and artist from Brazil) and his bull terrier Jimmy Choo, together they create the amazing works.

Jimmy posing on a white background, and Rafael draws the environment, creating short adventure stories.

According to Rafael, the idea came to him in an unexpected moment:

On my thirtieth birthday, my wife left me. She took her cookware, furniture, photos, her decorations. She left me alone in an empty all-white apartment. The only thing she didn’t take was my bull terrier, whom she’d named after her favorite shoe designer: Jimmy Choo. With only Jimmy for company, I found inspiration in my blank walls and my best friend and started snapping photos of Jimmy Choo as he trotted and cavorted around the house in glee. When Jimmy collapsed in happy exhaustion next to the white wall, I grabbed a marker and drew a new world around his ginger-eared pup. Suddenly, I felt his long-dormant inspiration for drawing, for art, for life—returning

I created a series of fun, tongue-in-cheek illustrations, portraying my bull terrier dreaming of shoes, relaxing on a sofa with a martini by his side or turning canine DJ on the decks. Set against a matte white background, the illustrations are humorous and eye-catching juxtaposed with bright pops of iridescent color in hot pink, copper and electric blue. I added the best pictures of Jimmy to one book, which is coming on October. source

Today created a few hundred photos with different subjects. Jimmy and Rafael have thousands of fans, already formed own brand, which is very popular. Jimmy Choo became the face of a video campaign of accessories collection from the same name designer. Was released book with the works of Raphael. On instagram he has over 600 thousand subscribers.

A great example of how the exit from comfort zone (though forced) helps to find inspiration, where it was not visible before.

You can thoroughly get acquainted with their creativity here: Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, jimmythebull.com

all images in this post obtained from public sources.

***

Of course, I understand that Rafael may be too busy to respond to this post. But, that is not a reason not to introduce you to his wonderful works. And to demonstrate the principle of operation of the project SteemitArt.

  • All funds raised from the publication of these works, will be immediately transferred to the author, after registration on Steemit.
  • Otherwise, funds will be directed to the creation of the prize pool for future contests of SteemitArt project.
  • Under the comments to the post will be added a screenshot that the author was informed via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or mail.

Follow SteemitArt on Steemit, Twitter, Facebook.

Sort:  

Facebook:

Twitter:

And I immediately realized what mistakes I made: I'm not an experienced twitter user, so I missed quite popular hashtag #rafaelmantesso ... :(

Also started to learn instagram, because before did not use it. Apparently with many of the artists can be contacted only through it.

Very cool!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

however, as I expected 0 reaction from him, too famous :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66