Poster for Danish 3D art school

in #art6 years ago

Although I lived in Malaysia, I lectured at Truemax Academy in Copenhagen a few times, and made this for them. Some of the most enjoyable lecturing I've ever done, with great people, both faculty and students, nice facilities... and oh that wonderful Danish food everywhere. Smorrebrod, Danish bacon, smoked fish, sausage, cheese... well if you've ever been there you know what I mean.

This was done in Maya, rendered with the Mental Ray for Maya renderer, and finished in Photoshop. It was done more than ten years ago, so I didn't use ZBrush, but did all the modeling in Maya. Each one of those scales... lol

lizardposter11.jpg

Here are some progress shots of the lizard. As you see at first I planned to have a harness on it, but it didn't make sense with the action so I got rid of it.

lizard1.jpg

lizardtest8.jpg

At first I was also going to have her hold a gun instead of magical energy, but I wasn't happy with the gun and how it worked with the logic of the scene.

guntest3.jpg

lizardgirltest10.jpg

Sort:  

Wow you hand-modeled all those scales....OMG...

cool modeled and sculpted - well done in 3D :-)
resteemed

This is really cool, I'm a 3D artist myself. What did you use to texture that scene? all in Zbrush?

Thanks! No, I didn't start using ZBrush til many years later... it's all Maya and Photoshop. :)

The creature reminds me of Tidehunter from Dota 2. The pistol is the "Mexicana" and the girl doesn't resemble anything I've saw so I need to watch more movies :D
Joking
Nice work, love the job you done.
Cheers

Thanks! :)
I googled "Mexicana" but got only food lol... is it from a game?

It's from a flop movie called The Mexican with Brad Pitt.
Featured a mythical revolver claimed to be old style and golden... it would backfire a lot though.

ah I do remember the movie, quite some time ago iirc :)

I remember having to do stuff like that! (hand modelling all the things) Unlike your result here all of my stuff was terrible, don't know how I ever coped pre-sculpting (or right, I didn't XD)

It may be old but it still looks great :)

goatsig

Thanks :) Yeah I resisted learning ZBrush because of its stupid interface, but nowadays you have to

I still don't use ZBrush. I really wanted to because industry standard blah blah blah and it's supposed to be good, but they didn't have a trial version on their website. What they had was Sculptris to get used to the idea of dynatopo and then pay us $800 or whatever it was at the time for ZBrush and if you don't like it we'll refund it.

Having used Sculptris extensively prior to that and having read a few things and seen a few videos of ZBrush I knew enough to know they were exactly nothing alike interface-wise and having never dealt with the company before I didn't trust them to simply refund the money if ZBrush and I didn't get on, so I ended up with 3d Coat (it had a trial version and is available on all major platforms and has beautiful sculpting and retopo and painting, my other option was Substance Painter which didn't have a Linux version at the time but apparently does now, but also doesn't have sculpting and retopo).

Guess it doesn't really matter as I don't work in the industry anyway and am unlikely to ever at this stage, and the apps I use get the job done to some value of getting the job done (which is more to do with me than the app XD)

goatsig

Yes we use 3DCoat also, I've never really practiced much on it but some people in the studio love it for texturing... I never used Sculptris, but I did use Mudbox for a while.

gah! the gun is a beauty! i wouldve put it on her belt or her left hand.

actually good idea... I should have done that...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stahlberg to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Very impressive! How long it took for you to master this 3d skills?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97