Drawing a Bengal Cat with a fine line pen only.

in #art8 years ago

Drawing a Bengal Cat with a fine line pen only.

This was a recent project where I tested myself to see if I could get a decent drawing done of a Bengal cat using only a black fine line 0.1 nib pen by Unipin. 

I started with a simple pencil outline, to give the correct proportions. Then slowly started to fill in the details, the fur, the stripes and the eyes with a fine line pen. It was tough to start with... looked really scratchy. 

It takes time though. And you need to be patient. The more I applied, the less white I could see, which gave the picture depth. But if you go too far, it all fills in and goes black. SO it was literally a case of cross hatching a cm at a time. All in all I'd say this took about five hours. 

After I'd finished the drawing a number of people requested prints. Someone also asked if they could have two versions, with one flipped. This looked pretty neat - like bookends.

I hope you like the drawing. Please vote or reply to let me know what you think. 

Steve Squidoodle

xx


Sort:  

Master piece if you ask me! I really love it!

Awww thank you so much! What a lovely thing to say. :)

Great post, I've suggested this to Steemtrail.

Ooooh thank you. I'm still learning.... what is Steemtrail????

Steem Trail is a new thing to curate the contents on Steemit. I'm a curator for Art, so I suggest and verify posts -that's why I asked you about Facebook as I was waiting to recommend you work. https://steemit.com/steemtrail/@instructor2121/intructor2121-steemtrail-an-introduction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95