scotty's stone daily, stones four to six, post two of five

in #art7 years ago (edited)

When is a project a project?
and when is a failure a failure?
when is rocking rocking?
and when is it shaking?

I have remarked a few times here on steemit lately about how I have 'failed' continuously this year, project after project.

Some people seem to get upset by my saying that, but as usual, I just point out that the facts of the matter never change because you ignore them.

I have bitten off more than I can chew each time I have tried something lately, as my life is relatively challenging before I add any extra challenges on top.
SSD115_detail1200px.jpg

One of the first ones of these failures was a trial period testing the waters for a much longer project.
Many times I had thought of doing another project based on my minutely detailed drawings of pebbles, and the like.
I have always drawn pebbles and stones, and did quite a lot in 2004 in my first ever full time year.

Those ones can be seen at the linked page, sticks and stones on my website.

I decided to see if I could produce one per day, painted with my unpainting technique, which I had not used apart from a couple of known pigments.
I had tried only blues, of varying hues, and with varied success.
The Cobalts from Windsor & Newton are perfect for unpainting, as they are remarkably non-staining, and I had already used Sennelier la Aquarelle Cinereous Blue, and knew it was staining but still had a nice result.
And I knew that the pure phthalo blues were very difficult to use for unpainting as they are very staining.

But always ready to jump in the deep end, I decided to do a thirty day trial period before stating publicly that I was going to attempt 400 days in a row.

Well, the upshot is I only made fifteen days and even then, I think that took seventeen days.

lol.
And I haven't returned to them since I gave it up. But I will, perhaps soon to try some more ambitious individual works. I have plenty of ideas.

But we will have to also see what life is going to show me next, as beggars can't be choosers either.

I have already posted an artist's statement for these works

and the first three in the series

Now without further ado, here are the second group of three stones, and their respective texts in Saatchi.

I haven't edited the texts from there, just a couple of typos that I caught after all this time.
Links to each work on saatchiart.com in title under the main image for the work

Day four

SSD114_small.jpg

scotty's stone daily 114, 25 Feb 2017
Scott Hollingsworth
Spain
Painting
Size: 34 H x 24 W x 0.2 cm
Ships in a cardboard box
Painting: Watercolor and Acrylic on Paper.

Day four is finally up, although we are halfway through the fifth day already.
This is harder than it sounded.
The more time I spend doing this other stuff, (eating, bathing etc.) the further behind I get.
Not complaining mind you, just noting the facts as they are.
The trial period for scotty's stone daily continues, and time seems to be stretching, as time often does.
But it's a change from the feeling that time is flying by, which is my usual feeling.
I can't believe that I have only done four of these.
And only 396 to go.
Pebble of unknown origin, (I have forgotten) (could be the beach at Coolum, Qld, or that of Sotogrande in Spain, or perhaps a river bed.
Something to do with the water anyway, as you can (hopefully) plainly see.
These drawings are certainly more difficult according to the pigment.
This is Windsor and Newton Artist watercolours, Cobalt Turquoise Light, one of my long time favourites, because of it's opacity and flexibility in my colour work.
I love the hue too, but it is hard to get it to express enough contrast, as the darkest it can be, is obviously, light, according to its name.
Seem to take much longer to get it satisfactory.
And it remains disappointing. But a lovely colour.
Maybe in one of these soon, I will experiment with using two colours. Sacrilege.
Anyhow, I must finish up here so as to start today's stone, or at least the physical manifestation of it.

Keywords: pebble, realism, stone, drawing, sds, ssd, unpainting, cobalt turquoise light, stark shadow

Subjects: Nature

Styles: Realism, Conceptual, Figurative, Fine Art, Documentary

Mediums: Watercolor, Acrylic

SSD114_detail1200px.jpg

Day five

SSD115_small.jpg

scotty's daily stone 115, 26 feb 2017
Scott Hollingsworth
Spain
Painting
Size: 34 H x 24 W x 0.2 cm
Ships in a cardboard box
Painting: Watercolor and Acrylic on Paper and Cardboard.

today's/yesterday's stone, a strange little broken piece of pink and white rock. I wonder if I will get any followers who are geologists or rock hounds, who can start telling me what things are.
I have been a half day behind.
Theoretically I am putting them up when they are done, but in practice, either I haven't gotten it finished, and have to continue in the morning after (putting me behind on the current day's work) or, like last night, don't finish until four in the morning.
Either way the effect is rather the same. This work is dated 26 feb, but I signed it (painstakingly, but crookedly) on the calendar day 27. I am not sure what my approach will be once I get started seriously.
Things are what they are.
A phrase I am used to repeating to myself.
The work is Windsor and Newton Artists' Watercolour, Brown Madder, on acrylic gesso on coloured Art card.
The technique is what I call unpainting.
All quality materials that will last if looked after.
This work is unframed but will need to be framed under glass for display.
It forms part of the ongoing trial period for the ambitious project of doing one stone daily for a year or more.
I am currently evaluating my considerable lack of discipline and organisational skills to be a real weak link factor in said ambition.
still five down, only 395 to go.

Keywords: pebble, spartan, stone, monocrome, cool red, drawing, sds, ssd, gravel, brown madder

Subjects: Nature

Styles: Realism, Figurative, Fine Art, Conceptual, Documentary

Mediums: Watercolor, Acrylic

SSD115_detail1200px.jpg

Day six

SSD116_small.jpg

scotty's stone daily 116, 27 feb 2017
Scott Hollingsworth
Spain
Painting
Size: 34 H x 24 W x 0.2 cm
Ships in a cardboard box

Painting: Watercolor and Acrylic on Paper and Cardboard.

day six and I am half dead already.
And ironically my keyboard is also on its last legs.
But it will probably be easier to replace the keyboard than my sanity. haha

another beach or river rock, smooth and granular in nature and tetrahedral in shape.
I choose a challenging angle to portray and lighting angle that didn't help at all.
Struggled until late and had to be satisfied with this.
Some days are diamonds, some days are beach or river rock, smooth and granular in nature and tetrahedral in shape.

This is my 'unpainting' technique, and this is Sennelier l'Aquarelle (watercolor) Cinereous Blue, which is really a mixture of phthalo blue and titanium white.
(I almost never buy non single pigment paint and this no exception, 'twas a free sample)

a much more staining pigment because of the phthalocyline.
not the best for unpainting.

Keywords: pebble, rock, piedra, stone, roca, phthalo blue, sds, ssd, Sennelier Cinereous Blue, daily practice, nature

Subjects: Nature

Styles: Realism, Figurative, Fine Art, Conceptual, Documentary

Mediums: Watercolor, Acrylic
SSD116_detail1200px.jpg






010thisoneisstrongtheforce.png

If anyone would like to see an extensive, although unfortunately by no means complete, collection of SpaiNgaroo artworks, they can visit my main domain

There is some work for sale at Saatchi online gallery
and a Redbubble print on demand shop
and a fabric and wallpaper shop on Spoonflower too although many of the designs are still not available for sale.
sorry

Blame it on the sunshine,
blame it on the moonlight,
blame it on the good times,
now blame it on the steemit.

video bicho hmmm... sometimes
don't really use twitter, but robots do
the facialbook, if you must

Well, as usual thank you for coming by anyone who is reading these words, and don't be afraid to show your appreciation, or criticise the hell out of me.

if you would like to help us survive send

bitcoins

to
37R8CJBsizPvThmDzu7GT24zZ6DYv9C2Gq

dogecoins

to
DFy5VD4ohEntW6nc84Dfh2SwdELDiepnZK

all the steem you think we should have to @spaingaroo

ask about buying my artwork for steem

whatever you think is a fair thing.

lol





010_thisisit.jpg

.
.
.
lol

maybe this is common place,
tomorrow.
remember where you saw it first.
The blockchain doesn't lie
images by @spaingaroo, artwork by @spaingaroo, incredible chewy goodness by @spaingaroo

Sort:  

This is hilarious, and at the same time a very noble quest. I laugh because I understand the pain of creative failure after failure. We usually don't brag about this stuff. How many countless times have I dreaded opening up the kiln the next day because I've already established that something disastrous will lurk within? What's really going on here however, is just a pace that accelerates the curve of discovery and learning. Persistence is what you are demonstrating, and inevetably you will strike gold! And those are the moments we bother for. Keep it up!

Thanks, I suppose until recently I would never brag about failure, but when I see how much it upsets people, it just makes me go for it.

Lol

I loved opening up the kilns, to see how much damage my friend Seton had been able to cause with his experiments.

Still, he come up with some lovely surfaces in all that. He invented both the glazes on this work of mine

spaingaroo

Ceramics is a failure's dream. I have only my paints that can fail these days.

thanks for coming by and leaving the comment. I really appreciate the human interaction.

Oh that's just great! Yes, I remember this piece you are referring to with the glazes. I don't think you can discover something new and great (like this) without walking the path of trial and error first. I feel for your friend Steton, too! Anyway, we keep experimenting because we can't help it!

wow, I had forgotten showing it to you way back then.
It's the only one that I have already scanned the slide of.
That's the reason why it keeps coming out.
There were six of these.
I think I would have slides of all of them. But I have a lot of slides and scanning slides sux.

thanks again.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61039.43
ETH 2460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66