Moonset and Sunrise Fractals on Eclipse Day

in #art6 years ago (edited)

cover-01.jpg

This post is about a series of fractals I created using photographs of the moonset and sunrise after the recent eclipse.

First off, a huge thank you to @soundwavesphoton for sharing his photo hacking techniques through this tutorial on creating psychedelic maps. He's been my fractal guru and converted me to the fractal side. My first venture into the fractal world was through following his excellent tutorial that explained clearly how to go about fractalizing. The eclipse happened recently and we were lucky to have clear skies and a beautiful view of it here in Kodaikanal. I don't have any pictures of the eclipse itself, but found myself awake during sunrise/moonset after the eclipse of which I got some great photographs to use as a base for my fractals. We're at an elevation that allows us to see both the moon setting and sun rising on almost the same line. Both have vivid colours that the fractals brought out. I started with following the tutorial and once I had the app, I kept experimenting. The nice thing about the app is that effects stack. I'm still finding my way around the app, and only used around 4-5 effects out of the dozens available. You can see the fractals increase in complexity as I stack more effects. Without further ado, I present to you moonset and sunrise fractals.

Moonset

IMG_20180201_063753_01.jpg

image%3A94584_mirror.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror5.jpg

image%3A94587_mirror.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror7.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror8.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror15.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror12.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror10.jpg

image%3A92815_mirror13.jpg

Sunrise

IMG_20180201_061715_01.jpg

image%3A94581_mirror.jpg

image%3A94566_mirror2.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror4.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror8.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror7.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror10.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror6.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror13.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror11.jpg

image%3A92816_mirror14.jpg

Check out @soundwavesphoton's blog for more awesome fractal art, music and steemit colabs. Since he was generous enough to share his fractal secrets and this post wouldn't exist otherwise it's only fair to split this post's payout with him. Keep being awesome @soundwavesphoton!

Untitled-5-01.png

| PAL-Minnow Support Project | Homesteaders Online |

unityguild-01.jpg

sascc-01.png

Sort:  

Love the colors! Really cool process. Thanks for sharing. You live in a beautiful place :)

Thank you! Kodai is quite magical. One of these days I need to learn how to paint and sit in front of sunrise/set with a canvas.

woah thats so cool. My favorites are the moonsets although the sunrise, the 8th picture down (include the picture of the sunrise) make me think of spiders. I like that one too. Good job! How long does it take to create one?

Interesting, I hadn't considered spiders. I guess fractals can be interpreted in myriad ways. It doesn't take very long. The app does stuff instantly, it just takes a bit of twiddling to pair the right effects and arrive at a good looking composition.

Ooooh! I must check out that tutorial. These are breathtaking! <3
They look like the work of a master...not someone new to fractals...:D

Yeah, go try out the tutorial! Also, the app does all the work, haha. It isn't as complicated as it seems. Just a bit of twiddling and everyone can come up with similar results. Thank you for the compliments though!

Dude! These look awesome haha. The trees in the first set really create some trippy looks, I gotta experiment with more trees now haha. The colors really shine through in the first set, and I love the way the black contrasts the blue and yellow in the 2nd set. You have a fractal black belt now ;)

Haha, arigato senpai sounds. Thanks for sharing your secret techniques, you're an excellent teacher. I don't think I'm black belt level yet, but thanks a bunch for the compliments. I'm honoured :)

haha! great the sound effect :) ... gotta try making some .. lol

Yeaah, try it out man, it's a lot of fun!

Absolutely beautiful @soulturtle ...lovely exploration into the world of fractals using your photos :)

Thank you! They were a lot of fun to create.

Omg these are so beautiful! Can we have a fractal party next time?

Yes, for sure! They're quite addictive once you get started. Another cool thing to do is a sorta Fractal Chinese Whisper where we pass photos to each other applying fractals at each stage. Go get the app as soon as you can!

Oh YES. lets do thatt!

Wait! I thought that's what it looked like the whole time! 😋 beautiful photos

Haha, one would need to be in a perpetual state of heightened awareness for that. That would be pretty cool though. Thanks for the compliments :)

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

This is Spam. That’s not how Steemit it works. Votes should be given to those who create valuable content. Create valuable content, and engage with meaningful replies and you’ll get votes. You are risking getting flagged with this comment.

Thanks for stepping in there for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45