HOW TO Get GOOD at Any Skill e.g Programming, Writing, Math, Chess.

in #art7 years ago

**HOW TO Get GOOD at Any Skill e.g Programming, Writing, Math, Chess. **

This is going to be extremely short, I have realized something recently, this was mainly due to the exams I had to take in my UG CS course. I have always known this but now it's clear to me. I have included a video which features Magnus Carlson. Read on as I will try to explain -

In order to become extremely good at any skill:

You have to think about it constantly. ALL THE TIME, continuously. Mentally rehearsing the act, constantly practicing it in your mind. While you’re eating, taking a shower, talking to friends etc. This is what builds intuition. I will repeat myself - you must never stop thinking about it.

It was famously asked of Isaac Newton why he, one man, was able to make such a significant contribution towards science and humanity?

Newton replied - “ By thinking of nothing else”

A similar question was asked of Isaac Asimov, someone who has managed to write over 400 books, even though he had only started publishing books after the age of 30.

Asimov replied - “ By doing nothing else”

However, most overlook this detail and fail to grasp this key insight.

Some might argue, I’m not considering their innate ability! - but we know IQ is a necessary but not a sufficient condition for success in any field, innate ability isn't enough.

So if you want to become “good” at anything, how well you do is a function of how much time you spend thinking about it. If you pay close attention, anyone that’s any good at anything echoes this statement. You have to think about it constantly. ALL THE TIME, continuously. Mentally rehearsing the act, constantly practicing it in your mind.

Here is the clip of Magnus being caught in the act between 3 mins to 3.54 mins, Enjoy

I appreciate the thumbs up, people of steemit land :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05