Sheppard resting under a tree - original handmade sculpture by @sofi-m

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Monday today and I guess some of us would prefer to be somewhere else; on a holiday, on an island, by the sea or on a mountain resting under the shadow of a beautiful tree …just like my Sheppard! My Sheppard comes from my island. He has left all his sheep under the supervision of his dog and he is enjoying a smoke. Next to his legs is a bucket of milk.

This two piece sculpture is also handmade with different types of clay (white and grey). The tree was most challenging to make let alone survive the oven fire… But it made it, so my Sheppard has its shadow to rest under. The Tree is 50cm / c. 20in high, the Sheppard around 30cm / c. 12in high.

Below you will find some more photos of the sculpture as well as a couple of photos from my small “lab” :)

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @sofi-m. Such a lovely artistic piece....inspiring thought.

Your readers will enjoy pondering this piece of art from their own frame of reference as there are so many stories of such throughout history.

Your art has brought to mind The Great Shepherd, the Lord Jesus Christ also called The Chief Shepherd.
Thank you for the opportunity to express thought and think on these things. ....

All we like sheep have gone astray..everyone has turned to their own way but the Lord has laid on Him...Jesus Christ... the iniquity of us all, that we might be saved.

Such a touching comment, thank you so much! It gives me great pleasure to know that my artwork touched you in this spiritual way!

Such beautiful work, and a glimpse into your studio space and tools. Thank you for sharing this. I have a home in my heart for ceramics- I love the process and the end result.

Thank you @opheliafu, always so nice comments!

You make me want to start sculpturing when I see all your creations! Must be therapeutic is it? I intend to homeschool my boy (only 1 atm) and we will have to do this sort of thing...

It is very therapeutic as all creative things are! Children love this as well but it would be better if you use a self-drying clay. There is a problem with clay that you have to put in the oven, they often break. I hope all the best for the boy and I would be very happy to see you post your creations soon!

Hello @sofi-m,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.006 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82