Grandmother with Baby Child - original sculpture by @sofi-m

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemians!

I just finished this sculpture and I haven't baked yet in the kiln but I wanted to share with you because I find it very representative of Greece 50 years ago.

My mother was the midwife of our village in Naxos and she had helped bring to life more than 150 babies. So this sculpture is dedicated to her.

I have used natural clay of different colors. The granny is about 40 cm tall.

I hope you like her!

image

image

image

image

image

Sort:  

My mother was the midwife of our village in Naxos and she had helped bring to life more than 150 babies. So this sculpture is dedicated to her.

This is precious @sofi-m.

I greatly respect the work that a midwife does. I actually worked for one out of high school and the schedule that lady kept was unbelievable. She said she ran off of 3 hours sleep better than 4-5.

You put a lot of work into this and as always the faces are eye catching - it is the first thing I notice with your work. Great job!

You are worth many congratulations for working for a midwife... my mother was also a mother of 7 (she had given birth to more but my late brother and sisters didn't survive the war). Also, I thank you very much for your attention on my work. I am grateful.

Haha, thank you...

I am the oldest of 6 so I appreciate the incredible work your mother put in. Wow, a midwife and raising 7 children, that is quite the woman.

It is my pleasure @sofi-m. Your work is priceless.

:) :) amazing, well done to your family... I am much much much older than you are and in our times and our era it was usual to have big families. But nowadays? Bravo!

You're right, it used to be normal to have a large family. Sadly, that is not the case anymore.

Bravo to my mother for sure! She did or is homeschooling all 6 of us. :)

It looks great!

Crossing my fingers that it stays whole.

Thank you very much @ocrdu, this is the nicest thing to do for me!

Mind blowing
Love❤❤ for your mother
This is more than sculpture

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment! I am glad you like it!

So detailed and has a soul. Excellent work @sofi-m!! Keep up!

Thank you so much @osmanburga!

I love seeing talent @sofi-m, this here really touched my heart since I'm having a baby very soon, this is a bond that is unbreakable . We grow up with our moms first then for them to see our child is emotional attachment

Awwww I am really happy for you!!! I have two children and one grandchild and I can tell you for sure the happiness and intense love you will experience is beyond comparison!

God bless you and your family . (:

You better not joke with grandma.. she knows the life. How did you make her so real, my god

Haha thank you so much!

No seriously. I love how you made her kind and caring. Thats very realistic.

awesome work @ sofi-m:)

Ευχαριστω πολυ @evimeria!!!

@sofi-m
You wrote: I hope you like her!
Quick answer. Yes. I like. But, that wouldn't give you the praise and thanks you so rightly deserve for this great piece of work and art. And one of love, I would imagine.
Are you going to sell if? Or is it priceless to you? How you do that amazing, almost real life work, is almost beyond my understanding.
Only the human spirit the creator put in you, could make this possible.
Revel in your gift. You have the gift, but it is work more than I/we could know.
Thank you for showing us your gift and talent. Only on Steemit.

Francis

Francis your comment made me cry. THANK YOU. Whether I would sell this... the answer is no. I have trouble selling any of my works, every time I do I feel like I am losing a child. I cannot afford to lose my mother too....

Thank you so much again for your encouragement.

@sofi-m
Sorry. I did not want to make you cry. I repent. Forgive.
I only pour out of my heart, words that are created within me by your talent and art work. You are gifted and we who visit your blog get to see and enjoy what you present to us from time to time.
Your work is not only good, it is very good.
Another thing I have to say here and now. I do detect this about you.
You @sofi-m, have a heart of gold. Much more precious than precious stones.
I am happy to have found you on Steemit. I wish you the very best for all time.
Thank you

Francis

You are the gold. I have no words.

sofi-m, sofi-m. You don't need words. Words are easy. Just open the mouth and they fly outl
But compassion and skill is rare. And freely giving, with no hope of return. Priceless.
Therefore the gold.
You have humbled me sofi-m. What can I say. You are one of the best.
Thank you

Francis

All I know is that I had to go on Steemit to discover the kindness of people in its whole. As you said, goodness with no return. It's funny, sometimes people who know us and love us undoubtedly never go into the trouble of paying attention, giving encouragement, taking the time to say a good word. And then there come people like you and make you feel that all these hours of work are worthwhile.

Working as a midwife is very noble, because the midwife has saved a lot of life, when a mother gives birth to a midwife who plays a role in childbirth. Seotang midwife was willing to leave his family to help others ...good luck.

Thank you very much for your rightful comment!

My mother was a farmer ... everyday she worked in the fields, plowed the rice fields for rice, made money for the necessities of life and raised us, my mother became the backbone of the family for a living, because our father had long died when we were kids. Now my mother no longer go paddies to farm because of grown up and already able to work to finance the needs of ibu.dima mummy maids can not be replaced with anything .. I love mother.

Very touching story, you should be very proud of your mother!! Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94